1. Mr M Mnqasela to ask Mr A W Bredell, Minister of Local Government, Environmental Affairs and Development Planning:

Answered by: 
Question Number: 
Question Body: 
  1. Whether each municipality in the province has a policy on Expanded Public Works Programme (EPWP); if not, which municipalities do not have policies; if so, what are the (a) relevant details and (b) success rate of these policies;
  2. whether municipalities implement their own policies; if not, why not; if so,
  3. Whether they are successful; if not, why not; if so, what are the relevant details?
Answer Body: 


The Department of Transport and Public Works (WC) is the custodian of the Expanded Public Works Programme (EPWP) in the Province.  Information received from the Department of Transport and Public Works indicates the following:


(1)       Out of the 30 municipalities in the Western Cape Province, 28 Municipalities have an approved EPWP policy. (Each council is responsible to approve its own municipality’s EPWP policy). Drakenstein Municipality and Central Karoo District Municipality do not have an approved policy but a draft policy.


(2)       Yes, municipalities implement their own policies.


(3)       Yes, municipalities are successful in implementing their own policies. With the commencement of EPWP Phase 3 on 01 April 2014, municipalities are in the process of reviewing their existing policies to ensure alignment with the new principles of phase 3.

Not answered yet.

Question Year: 
Question Month: 
Question Day: