Welcome to the Western Cape Provincial Parliament

The Western Cape Provincial Parliament (WCPP) is one of the nine provincial legislatures in South Africa.

Based in Cape Town, the WCPP is constitutionally mandated to pass legislation, provide a forum for public debate, involve the public in the law-making process, and oversee the activities of the provincial executive.

The WCPP consists of 42 Members, elected every five years on a proportional representation system. The Premier and members of the provincial Cabinet are appointed from these Members.

This website contains information about the role and function of the WCPP, news, parliamentary activities including sitting and standing committee meetings, Members of the Provincial Parliament (MPP), legislation, publications, career opportunities, etc.

Please feel free to browse the site. Should you be unable to find what you are looking for, please contact the Webmaster.


Content Tabs

  • One of the first duties of new WCPP Speaker, Hon Masizole Mnqasela, was to preside over the election of the new Deputy Speaker for the Sixth Parliament of the Western Cape on 22 May 2019.

  • Hon Masizole Mnqasela was elected as Speaker of the Sixth Parliament of the Western Cape during the first Sitting of the House on 22 May 2019.

  • The first sitting of the Sixth Provincial Parliament of the Western Cape is scheduled to take place tomorrow, 22 May, at 10:30.

Event Dates
First Sitting of Fifth Parliament 2014-05-21
Election day 2014-05-07


Welcome From Speaker

Masizole Mnqasela
Speaker: Sixth Parliament of the Western Cape




Read More