Public meeting on service delivery in Malmesbury

Western Cape NCOP permanent delegates, accompanied by the Western Cape Provincial Parliament (WCPP) leadership invite stakeholders and interested parties to attend a public meeting on service delivery. The purpose of the public meeting will be to assess progress and discuss challenges in connection with infrastructure development in terms of the provision of human settlements, clean water, sanitation and electricity.

Details are as follows:

Date: Thursday, 11 September 2014
Venue: Malmesbury Banquet Hall, 1 Church Street, Malmesbury
Time: 17:30

New Speaker and Deputy Speaker for Western Cape Provincial Parliament

At the first sitting of the Fifth Parliament of the Western Cape that took place on 21 May, the new Speaker and Deputy Speaker were elected. Members voted for their candidate by means of  a secret ballot.
John Hlope, Judge President of the Western Cape High Court, presided over the election of the Speaker. The Democratic Alliance (DA) nominated Sharna Fernandez as candidate and the African National Congress nominated Maurencia Gillion. Following the election, Hlope announced Sharna Fernandez as the duly election Speaker.

New Cabinet announced

Premier Helen Zille announced the new Cabinet of the Western Cape Government earlier today. The new Cabinet will be sworn in by Western Cape High Court Deputy Judge President Jeanette Traverso on Monday, 26 May.  The new Cabinet comprises eight Ministers served in the as Ministers before and two new Ministers.
The two new Cabinet members are Min Nomafrench Mbombo, allocated the portfolion of Cultural Affairs and Sport and Min Debbie Schäfer, in the portfolio of Education.  The other eight Ministers are:
- Min Theuns Botha: Health

Members sworn in and office-bearers elected

The first sitting of the Fifth Parliament of the Western Cape took place today, 21 May, in the Chamber of the WCPP. The event, starting at 10:30, saw the swearing in of the new and returning Members, presided over by Judge President John Hlope. The 42 Members of the WCPP include 26 Members of the Democratic Alliance, 14 from the African National Congress and one each from the African Christian Democratic Party and the Economic Freedom Fighters. Hon Helen Zille was elected as Premier and Hon Sharna Fernandez as Speaker. The newly elected Deputy Speaker is Hon Piet Pretorius.

First sitting of the Fifth Parliament

On Wednesday, 21 May 2014, the 42 Members of the 5th Parliament of the Western Cape will be sworn in by Judge President of the Western Cape High Court, John Hlope.  Following the swearing in, Judge Hlope will preside over the election of the Premier and Speaker. Parties will submit their nominations and Members will vote by means of secret ballot. Once the election of the Premier and Speaker has been concluded, the newly elected Speaker will preside over the election of the Deputy Speaker.

Visit by Bavarian delegation

27 March 2014
A government delegation from the Free State of Bavaria met with Members of the WCPP on 27 March. The delegation, led by Minister Dr Beate Merk, Bavarian Minister for European and International Affairs, included two Members of the Bavarian State Legislature and senior government officials. Talks between the parties included the 20th anniversary in 2015 of the bilateral agreement between the Western Cape and Bavaria, as well as possible future co-operation.