First sitting of the Fifth Parliament

On Wednesday, 21 May 2014, the 42 Members of the 5th Parliament of the Western Cape will be sworn in by Judge President of the Western Cape High Court, John Hlope.  Following the swearing in, Judge Hlope will preside over the election of the Premier and Speaker. Parties will submit their nominations and Members will vote by means of secret ballot. Once the election of the Premier and Speaker has been concluded, the newly elected Speaker will preside over the election of the Deputy Speaker.

Visit by Bavarian delegation

27 March 2014
A government delegation from the Free State of Bavaria met with Members of the WCPP on 27 March. The delegation, led by Minister Dr Beate Merk, Bavarian Minister for European and International Affairs, included two Members of the Bavarian State Legislature and senior government officials. Talks between the parties included the 20th anniversary in 2015 of the bilateral agreement between the Western Cape and Bavaria, as well as possible future co-operation.