Members sworn in and office-bearers elected

The first sitting of the Fifth Parliament of the Western Cape took place today, 21 May, in the Chamber of the WCPP. The event, starting at 10:30, saw the swearing in of the new and returning Members, presided over by Judge President John Hlope. The 42 Members of the WCPP include 26 Members of the Democratic Alliance, 14 from the African National Congress and one each from the African Christian Democratic Party and the Economic Freedom Fighters. Hon Helen Zille was elected as Premier and Hon Sharna Fernandez as Speaker. The newly elected Deputy Speaker is Hon Piet Pretorius. After the event Members and guests attended a finger lunch, hosted by the Secretary to Provincial Parliament, Royston Hindley.