Joint statement by leaders of political parties represented in the WCPP


  • The current incidences of looting, violence, and attacks on property and people, and the loss of human life in Kwazulu-Natal and Gauteng in particular;
  • The impact of theft, violence and criminality on the constitutional democracy and the rule of law in South Africa;
  • That South Africa is currently on lockdown Alert Level 4, during the third wave of the Covid-19 pandemic; and
  • Believing that the safety of people and property is the constitutional responsibility of the State.


We therefore resolve, as political parties represented in the Western Cape Provincial Parliament, to:

  • Call for peace and stability in all communities;
  • Appreciate the work of law enforcement agencies, neighbourhood watches, private security companies, community safety officers, and farm watches in maintaining law and order;
  • Work with all communities as political representatives to maintain law, order and provide the necessary leadership to create calm in our communities;
  • Not to take the law into their own hands but rather allow law enforcement agencies to conduct their work;
  • Call on all citizens to refrain from spreading fake news and any information that is not true;
  • Unite across political lines to reject this scourge of violence, lawlessness and unrest; and
  • Pray for peace and stability in our nation, South Africa.


Signed by:


Democratic Alliance                                                                                       Albert Fritz

African National Congress                                                                            Cameron Dugmore

Freedom Front Plus                                                                                        Peter Marais

Good                                                                                                                 Brett Herron

African Christian Democratic Party                                                             Ferlon Christians

Al Jama-ah                                                                                                      Galil Brinkhuis

Premier of the Western Cape                                                                      Alan Winde

Speaker of the Western Cape Provincial Parliament                              Masizole Mnqasela

Deputy Speaker of the Western Cape Provincial Parliament                Beverley Schäfer

Chief Whip of the Majority Party                                                              Mireille Wenger

Chief Whip of the Official Opposition                                                      Pat Lekker

Feature on Home Page Carousel: