

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

Ref: 11/4/1/2/5

DRAFT MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

STANDING COMMITTEE ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT

Tuesday, 4 May 2021 (at 09:00), Virtual: MS Teams

PRESENT

Members

Democratic Alliance

America, D (Chairperson) Maseko, M Van der Westhuizen, AP

African National Congress

Smith, D

Economic Freedom Fighters

Makamba-Botya, N

Apology

Sileku, I (DA) (NCOP Permanent Delegate)

Additional Member

Marran, P (ANC)

The following persons were in attendance:

Department of Cooperative Governance

Mr J Maepa, Director: Municipal HRM Systems;

Department of Local Government

Mr K Makan, Director: Municipal Governance Ms T Mdledle, Deputy Director, Municipal Governance Ms A Clark, Deputy Director, Municipal Governance

South African Local Government Association

Mr L Njamela, Intergovernmental Relations and Strategic Relations

Department of the Premier

Ms C Williams, State Law Adviser

Western Cape Provincial Parliament

Adv R Maasdorp, Legal Adviser Mr J Coetzee, Procedural Officer Ms C Morris, ICT Support Ms N Msuphela, Committee Assistant

1. Opening and welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the Members of the Committee and all departmental officials.

2. Briefing by the Department of Local Government on their written submission on the Local Government: Municipal Systems Amendment Bill [B 2B – 2019]

Mr Makam briefed the Committee on the Department's written submission on the Bill.

The committee deliberated.

3. Resolutions

The Committee RESOLVED:

- 3.1 To incorporate the Department of Local Government's comments on the Local Government: Municipal Systems Amendment Bill in the Negotiating Mandate Report; and
- 3.2 That Adv Maasdorp provide the Committee with his comments on the Bill by end of business on 4 May 2021 for inclusion in the Negotiating Mandate Report.

4. Adoption of Draft Committee Minutes

The Chairperson submitted the Draft Committee Minutes of 17 March 2021 and 31 March 2021, which were considered and adopted.

The meeting adjourned at 10:45.

MR D AMERICA, MPP

CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT