

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

Ref: 11/4/1/2/7

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

STANDING COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORT AND PUBLIC WORKS

Tuesday, 22 June 2021 (at 14:00), MS Teams Virtual Meeting

PRESENT

Members

Democratic Alliance

America, D MacKenzie, R (Chairperson) Van der Westhuizen, AP

African National Congress

Mvimbi, LM

GOOD

Herron, B (GOOD)

Additional Members

Maseko, M (DA) Nkondlo, N (ANC)

The following persons were in attendance:

Department of Transport and Public Works

Mr D Mitchell, Minister for Transport and Public Works

Ms J Gooch, Head of Department

Mr C Roos, Head of Office: Minister of Transport and Public Works Adv R Collins, Director: Land

Transport Contract

Mr F Williams, Deputy Director: Land Transport Integration and Oversight

National Department of Transport

Mr N Makaepea, Acting Deputy Director General: Rail Transport Ms T Mpondo, Parliamentary Liaison Officer

Passenger Rail Agency of South Africa (PRASA)

Mr L Ramatlakane, Chairman: PRASA Board

Ms T Mabija, Board Member Mr M Mukhuba, Board Member

Mr Z Matthews: Group Chief Executive Officer
Mr R Ngakane: Senior Manager: Office of the GCEO
Mr W Mathebula: Acting Chief Procurement Officer

Mr J Makoro: Acting General Manager: Enterprise Risk Management

Mr N Malefane: Acting CEO: Rail Operations Mr D Mphelo: Chief Information Officer

Mr R Walker: Regional Manager: Metrorail Western Cape Ms V Sudoi: Programme Manager: Central Line Rehabilitation

Mr R Maseko: Senior Manager: Infrastructure: WC

Mr F Marutla, Acting CEO: PRASA Tech

Mr K Moleme, Senior Manager: Parliamentary and Stakeholder Management

Mr R Zaman, Chief Audit Executive

Mr K Molefi, Western Cape Regional Manager PRASA Property

Ms L Fosu, Group CFO PRASA Ms N Madikizela, CEO PRASA Cres

Mr T Mahenye, PRASA RSR Manager: Operational Safety

Mr N Malefane, Acting CEO Rail

Mr S Baltac, Acting General Manager Signalling

Western Cape Provincial Parliament

Mr J Coetzee, Procedural Officer Mr J Vermeulen, Senior Procedural Officer Mr S Hassam, ICT Support Mr C Esau, ICT Support Ms N Mshumpela, Committee Assistant

1. Opening and welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the Members of the Committee, Minister Mitchell, the Head of Department, the Chairperson of the PRASA Board, the Group Chief Executive of PRASA, departmental officials and officials from PRASA.

2. Briefing by PRASA

Mr Matthews made opening remarks after which Mr Walker proceeded with briefing the Committee on the status of the turnaround strategy of PRASA in the Western Cape.

The Committee was further briefed on the building of the security wall, damages to rail infrastructure during 2020 caused by vandalism and theft, the extent to which COVID-19 and the restriction on movement contributed to the distressed position of the rail system and what could be done differently in the future should there be another forced suspension of service, the status of the current staff compliment of PRASA and Metrorail and what is required to get the rail service operational and to curb the vandalism of the service.

The Committee deliberated.

3. Adoption of Draft Committee Minutes

The Chairperson submitted the Draft Committee Minutes of 8 June 2021, which were considered and adopted.

4. Resolutions/Actions

- 4.1 The Committee RESOLVED:
- 4.1.1 To attend the launch function of the security wall envisaged by PRASA;
- 4.1.2 To write to the Department of Transport and Public Works and the City of Cape Town and advise them to ensure that before they enter into any land swap agreements with PRASA, adequate security plans are in place to safeguard the new land that is swapped and to safeguard the land that was vacated by illegal land occupiers from being occupied again by illegal occupiers; and
- 4.1.3 To invite the Provincial Property Committee to brief it on the land situation in the Western Cape, their operations and challenges.
- 4.2 The Committee REQUESTED that Metrorail Cape Town provide the Committee with a copy of their Operational Report on a monthly basis to enable the Committee to monitor the rail service to the commuters in the Western Cape.

The meeting adjourned at 15:45.

MR R MACKENZIE, MPP

CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORT AND PUBLIC WORKS