

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

Ref: 11/4/1/2/11

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE, ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND DEVELOPMENT PLANNING

Tuesday, 9 November 2021 (at 09:00), Virtual Meeting via Microsoft Teams

PRESENT

Members

Democratic Alliance

America, D (Additional Member)
Baartman, DM
Maseko, LM
Van Der Westhuizen, AP (Chairperson)

African National Congress

Smith, D (Alternate Member)

Freedom Front Plus

Marais, PJ

Apologies:

Mr P Marran, Member - African National Congress Dr D Troskie, Department of Agriculture, Director - Business Planning and Strategy

The following persons were in attendance:

Ministry of Agriculture

Dr I Meyer, Minister of Agriculture Ms M van Jaarsveld, Head of Ministry

Department of Agriculture

Dr M Sebopetsa, Head of Department Mr D Jacobs, Deputy Director-General - Agricultural Development Support Services Mr F Huysamer, Chief Financial Officer Dr H Ngwenya, Chief Director - Agricultural Producer Support and Development Ms R Wentzel, Chief Director – Operational Support Services

Dr I Trautmann, Chief Director – Research and Technology Development Services

Ms A Petersen, Director - Sustainable Resource Management

Dr G Msiza: Chief Director - Veterinary Services

Ms H Rodkin: Chief Director - Structured Agricultural Education and Training

Ms B Matoti: Director - Agricultural Economic Services Mr J Aries, Director - Farmer Support and Development Mr M van Aswegen, Manager - Financial Accounting

Casidra

Prof J Kirsten, Chairperson of the Board

Mr S Symington, Chief Executive Officer

Mr F van Zyl, Chief Financial Officer

Mr D Nefdt, Chief Officer - Projects

Ms L Seconds, Human Resources Manager

Mr E Matshediso, Public Relations and Communication Manager

Mr D Manuel, Manager - Amalienstein and Waaikraal

WCPP Officials

Mr J Vermeulen, Senior Procedural Officer

Ms S Niekerk, Procedural Officer

Ms N Mshumpela, Committee Assistant

Mr S Hassam, Information Technology Assistant

1. Opening and welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the members of the Committee, the Minister, Head of Department, Chairperson of the Casidra Board, and the departmental officials.

2. Discussion of the Annual Reports of the Department of Agriculture and Casidra (2020/21)

The Minister and Head of Department provided a brief overview of the Annual Report of the Department, focusing on the highlights and challenges in the 2020/21 financial year.

The Chairperson of the Casidra Board and the Chief Executive Officer provided the same for Casidra.

The Committee proceeded to a discussion on Part A: General Information, Part B: Performance Information and Part D: Human Resource Management of the Annual Reports of the Department and its entity, Casidra.

The Committee deliberated.

3. Resolutions/Actions

The Committee **REQUESTED** that the Department provides it with:

3.1. A regional breakdown of the location of food gardens and community food gardens in the Western Cape with specific reference to the types of challenges experienced per region, the

- manner of reporting on the status of these food gardens, the measures in place as well as the acceptable threshold percentage to ensure sustainability; and
- 3.2 A report on the transfer of conditional grants to the Western Cape by the National Department of Agriculture, Rural Development and Land Reform for the last five years indicating the respective dates on which the transfers were made and the effect of delays in receiving the conditional grants particularly in terms of the support to farmers who are beneficiaries of this type of funding.

The Chairperson expressed appreciation for the opportunity to peruse the Annual Reports of the Department of Agriculture and Casidra and recognised the challenges that these institutions had to operate under during the past year. The Chairperson further expressed appreciation for the comprehensive responses received during the meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 13:00.

MR AP VAN DER WESTHUIZEN, MPP

CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE, ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND DEVELOPMENT PLANNING

Date:19 November 2021.....