

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo IeNtshona Koloni

Ref: 11/4/1/2/11

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE, ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND DEVELOPMENT PLANNING

Thursday, 18 November 2021 (at 09:00), Virtual Meeting via Microsoft Teams

PRESENT

Members

Democratic Alliance

Baartman, DM Maseko, LM Van Der Westhuizen, AP (Chairperson)

African National Congress

Marran, P Smith, D (Alternate Member)

Freedom Front Plus

Marais, PJ (Additional Member)

GOOD

Herron, BN

The following persons were in attendance:

Ministry of Local Government, Environmental Affairs and Development Planning

Mr A Bredell, Minister of Local Government, Environmental Affairs and Development Planning Mr M du Randt, Head of Ministry

Department of Environmental Affairs and Development Planning

Mr P van Zyl, Head of Department Mr R Mosome, Chief Financial Officer Mr A Mohamed, Chief Director - Environmental Governance, Policy Coordination and Enforcement Ms K Shippey, Chief Director - Environmental Sustainability Mr G Arendse, Chief Director - Environmental Quality Mr G Gerber, Chief Director - Development Planning Mr A Gaffoor, Director - Strategic and Operational Support Mr J Fritz, Director - Financial Management Mr P Hardcastle, Director - Planning and Policy Coordination Mr A Bassier, Director - Environmental Law Enforcement Adv C Maré, Director - Environmental Governance Ms M Laros, Director - Biodiversity and Coastal Management Mr G Isaacs, Director - Climate Change Mr R Mukanya, Director - Sustainability Ms W Kloppers, Director - Pollution and Chemicals Management Dr J Leaner, Director - Air Quality Management Mr Z Toefy, Director - Development Management - Region 1 Mr K Munro, Director - Development Management - Region 2 Mr G Benjamin, Director - Development Management - Region 3 Ms C Stone, Director - Spatial Planning Ms H Jacobs, Director - Development Planning, Intelligence Management and Research Ms T Jordan, Director - Development Facilitation Mr F Wűst, Manager - Regional Socio-Economic Projects

CapeNature

Prof D Hendricks, Board Chairperson Dr R Omar, Chief Executive Officer Mr M Bhayat, Chief Financial Officer Dr E Baard, Executive Director - Conservation Operations Ms C Birss, Executive Director - Biodiversity Capabilities Mr S Ismail, Executive Director - Ecotourism and Access Mr B Barnes, General Manager - Strategy Governance & Risk Ms R Vaughan, General Manager - Human Resources Mr K Williams, General Manager - Finance

WCPP Officials

Mr J Vermeulen, Senior Procedural Officer Ms S Niekerk, Procedural Officer Ms N Mshumpela, Committee Assistant Mr S Hassam, Information Technology Assistant

1. Opening and welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the members of the Committee, the Minister, Head of Department, Chairperson of the CapeNature Board, the Chief Executive Officer of CapeNature and the Departmental officials.

2. Discussion of the Annual Reports of the Department of Environmental Affairs and Development Planning and CapeNature (2020/21)

The Minister and Head of Department provided a brief overview of the Annual Report of the Department, focussing on the highlights and challenges in the 2020/21 financial year.

The Chairperson of the CapeNature Board and the Chief Executive Officer provided the same for CapeNature.

The Committee proceeded to a discussion on Part A: General Information, Part B: Performance Information and Part D: Human Resource Management of the Annual Reports of the Department and its entity, CapeNature.

The Committee deliberated.

During the deliberation, Member Marais raised a question regarding food security which was mainly a responsibility of the Department of Agriculture. The Chairperson ruled that that the question would be put in writing for response by the relevant Department.

3. **Resolutions/Actions**

- 3.1 The Committee **REQUESTED** that the Department provides it with:
- 3.1.1 The policies, processes and/or related documents that have been reviewed to improve safety through urban and rural design and spatial planning that assists in building social cohesion in communities;
- 3.1.2 A report on land invasion that may have taken place on land parcels assembled for development and on protected areas outlining the current status and the mitigating plans that are in place; and
- 3.1.3 The Annual Review Report of the Provincial Biodiversity Strategy and Action Plan outlining the targets that were measured.
- 3.2 The Committee **FURTHER REQUESTED** that the Department of Agriculture provides it with a report on food security with specific reference to:
- 3.2.1 Efforts made in collaboration with the Department of Social Development and the National Department of Social Services to alleviate food insecurity specifically in rural areas;
- 3.2.2 The possibility of establishing a food bank consisting of produce that has been graded unsuitable for the overseas market; and
- 3.2.3 The possibility of liaising with overseas counterparts to import offcuts such as offal that is often discarded as waste so that people in South Africa who are destitute could benefit.

The Chairperson expressed appreciation for the opportunity to peruse the Annual Reports of the Department of Environmental Affairs and Development Planning and CapeNature and recognised the challenges that these institutions had to operate under during the past year. The Chairperson further expressed appreciation for the comprehensive responses received during the meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 13:12.

MR AP VAN DER WESTHUIZEN, MPP CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE, ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND DEVELOPMENT PLANNING

Date:30 November 2021.....