

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo IeNtshona Koloni

Ref: 11/4/7

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

STANDING COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORT AND PUBLIC WORKS

Tuesday, 30 August 2022 (at 09:00), Hybrid – Chamber, 6th floor, 7 Wale Street, Cape Town

PRESENT

Members

Democratic Alliance

Mackenzie, R (Chairperson) America, D Van der Westhuizen, AP

African National Congress

Mvimbi, LM

Good Party

August, S

The following persons were in attendance:

Department of Transport and Public Works

Mr L Fourie, Chief Director: Road Network Management Mr C October, Chief Director: Road Planning Mr S Carstens, Chief Engineer Road Use

Department of the Premier

Ms A Torr, State Law Adviser

Transjuris Consulting

Mr A Abrahamson

Western Cape Provincial Parliament

Adv R Maasdorp, Legal Adviser Mr J Coetzee, Procedural Officer Mr J Vermeulen, Senior Procedural Officer Mr S Hassam, ICT Support Ms N Mshumpela, Committee Assistant

1. Opening and welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the members of the Committee, and the officials.

2. Consideration of the Western Cape Provincial Transport Infrastructure Bill [B 5–2021]

The Committee proceeded with the consideration of the Bill and allowed Mr van der Westhuizen to present his concerns.

Mr van der Westhuizen highlighted his concerns with the definition of advertisement and the wording of the amendment to Clause 37 (1). He also expressed his concern regarding the draft regulations and the proposed display of farm names.

Ms Torr informed the committee that advertisement as defined in the in the bill is in line with a ruling by the Supreme Court of Appeals.

The Chairperson postponed the meeting to afford the officials an opportunity to come up with alternative wording for Clause 37 (1).

Due to time constraints the Committee agreed to meet later to consider the revised wording of Clause 37 (1) and to proceed with the formal consideration of the Bill.

The meeting adjourned at 11:27.

sof lastefl

MR R MACKENZIE, MPP CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORT AND PUBLIC WORKS