

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo IeNtshona Koloni

Ref: 11/4/7

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

STANDING COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORT AND PUBLIC WORKS

Thursday, 3 November 2022 (at 08:00), Chamber, 6th floor, 7 Wale Street, Cape Town

PRESENT

Members

Democratic Alliance

America, D Mackenzie, R (Chairperson) Van der Westhuizen, AP Maseko, M (Additional)

African National Congress

Mvimbi, LM Nkondlo, ND (Additional)

GOOD Party

August, S

The following persons were in attendance:

Department of Transport and Public Works

Mr D Mitchell, Minister for Mobility Mr T Simmers, Minister for Infrastructure Adv C Smith, Chief Financial Officer Ms D Ribbonaar, Chief Director: Transport Operations Ms G Van Schalkwyk, Chief Director: Policy and Strategy Integration Adv K Reinecke, Deputy Director-General: Transport Management Mr L Fourie, Chief Director: Road Network Management Mr G Kode, Deputy Director-General: Provincial Public Works Mr S Hindley, Head of Component: Immovable Asset Management Ms A Campbell, Chief Director: General Infrastructure Ms R Kok, Chief Director: Health and Education Infrastructure Ms S Andrews, Chief Director: Financial Management Mr R Maharaj, Chief Director: Strategic Management and Operational Support Mr R Petersen, Chief Director: Expanded Public Works Programme Mr T Pillay, Chief Director: Public Private Partnership Mr Y Ahmed, Chief Director: Transport Regulation Mr R Wiggill, Director: Fleet Finance Ms P van der Merwe, Director: Governance and Demand Management Mr S van Eeden, Performance Management and Evaluation Ms G Hartley, Deputy Director: Financial Governance Ms G Rinquest, Deputy Director Financial Accounting Ms L Barron, Mr W Wilson

Office of the Auditor-General

Ms N Ndzamela, Senior Manager Mr V Langford, Audit Manager Ms A Krieg, Audit Manager

SANTACO

Mr N Enge, First Deputy Chairperson Mr K Dent

Nyanga Tourism Platform

Mr M Mbiko

Western Cape Provincial Parliament

Mr J Coetzee, Procedural Officer Mr J Vermeulen, Senior Procedural Officer Ms N Mshumpela, Committee Assistant Mr S Hassam, ICT Support

1. Opening and welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the Members of the Committee, the Minister of Transport and Public Works, the Head of Department, Departmental officials and the public.

2. Deliberation on the Annual Reports of the Department of Transport and Public Works and Government Motor Transport (GMT) for the 2020/2021 financial year

The Minister and Head of Department provided a brief overview of the Annual Reports of the Department and GMT, focussing on the highlights and challenges during the 2020/21 financial year.

The Committee proceeded to a discussion on Part A: General Information, Part B: Performance Information and Part D: Human Resource Management of the Annual Reports.

The Committee deliberated.

3. Information requested

The Committee REQUESTED that the Department provides the Committee with:

- 3.1 A report on all the irregular expenditure cases that emerged during the 2021/22 financial year indicating what goods and services were procured, how the irregular expenditure was discovered and what processes were put in place to ensure that a re-occurrence does not take place;
- 3.2 A copy of the survey that was done on the road safety overview and the successes of the Safely Home Campaign;
- 3.3 A copy of their five-year Employment Equity Plan and the status of the plan with regard to the implementation of the plan;
- 3.4 A copy of the Labour Force Survey and an indication of whether the Department has a succession plan and if so, to provide a copy of the plan;
- 3.5 A report on the so called "construction mafia" and whether the Department was exposed to problems of intimidation, extortion and violence on construction sites during the period under review; and
- 3.6 A report on the R51 million owed by PRASA to the Department indicating what was done to recover the money, has Provincial Treasury been approached to assist and what other avenues could be pursued to recover the money.

4. Resolutions

The Committee RESOLVED that it would invite the Department to brief it in future on:

- 4.1 The status of the Blue DOT Incentive Programme;
- 4.2 Their role in assisting municipalities with their Integrated Transport Plans to address the challenges created by the current population growth trend in the province; and
- 4.3 The various alternative transport plans for municipalities and districts in the Western Cape

6. Acknowledgement

The Committee expressed its appreciation to the Traffic Law Enforcement Officers and wished them well during the execution of their duties over the upcoming festive season, to ensure roads are safe for all road users.

The Chairperson thanked the Members of the Committee, the Minister, the Head of Department and all the officials of the Department for their preparation and responses to the questions raised by the Committee.

The meeting adjourned at 12:51.

espertable

MR R MACKENZIE, MPP CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORT AND PUBLIC WORKS