

## **DRAFT PROGRAMME:**

## Standing Committee on Human Settlements and Standing Committee on Local Government Oversight Visit

11 May 2022

(As at 25 April 2022)

Chairperson: Ms LM Maseko, MPP Chairperson: Ms L Botha, MPP Procedural Officer. Mr J Coetee (Cell: 082 921 2242) Procedural Officer: Ms S Jones (Cell: 067 008 1323) Committee Assistant: Ms N Mshumpela (Cell: 063 315 0511) Driver: Mr A Barends (Cell: 060 963 4015)

DATE	TIME	ΑCTIVITY	VENUE AND ADDRESS	CONTACT PERSON
Wednesday, 11 May 2022	07:00	Departure from:       4 Dorp Street, Legislature Building to Paarl (approx. 1 hour / 62.4km)		
	<mark>08:00 –</mark> 09:00	Oversight visit to Drakenstein Municipality to observe provincial hous (Paarl-East)	ing complexes in Pienaar a	and Grebe Streets in Drakenstein
Wednesday, 11 May 2022	09:00	<ol> <li>Opening and welcome</li> <li>Briefing by the Cape Winelands District Municipality on the support provided to B Municipalities with regards to bulk infrastructure</li> <li>Briefing by the Cape Winelands District Municipality, Witzenberg Municipality, Drakenstein Municipality, Stellenbosch Municipality, Breede Valley Municipality, Langeberg Municipality and the Department of Human Settlements, on:</li> <li>The support provided to B Municipalities with regards to bulk infrastructure;</li> <li>The current status of the Municipal Housing Demand Database vs how it aligns with the Provincial Housing Demand Database;</li> <li>The challenges that the Municipality experience when implementing housing project;</li> <li>How does the municipality align their housing projects to the prioritised programmes for the prioritised beneficiaries as per the provincial housing policy;</li> <li>The housing business plans/projects in the pipeline including projects that generate revenue e.g. social housing;</li> </ol>	Paarl Community Hall 82 Jan Van Riebeek Street Paarl Mr Pieter Jordaan (021) 862 2190 061 517 9384	Department of Human Settlements Ms Phila Mayisela – Acting HOD (083 589 5992) Ms K August (Chief Director: Planning (082 339 8809) Mr Francios de Wet Chief Financial Officer (082 492 0775) Benjamin Nkosi Director: Strategic Support (081 047 3744) Mr N Adriaanse – Director Communication PHP – 076 245 7519

	<ul> <li>3.6 Roles and responsibilities of MAYCO members and Portfolio chairs of housing when coming to housing projects; and</li> <li>3.7 Municipal state of readiness with regards to possible flood disasters with the upcoming winter season.</li> </ul>	
	<ol> <li>Question and Answer session</li> <li>Resolutions/Actions/Closing of meeting</li> </ol>	
16:00	Departure from: Paarl Town Hall for the Legislature Building, 7 Wale Street, Cape Town (approx. 1 hour / 62.4km)	