

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo IeNtshona Koloni

Ref: 11/4/1/2/5

# **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

# STANDING COMMITTEE ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT

Wednesday, 10 August 2022 (at 09:00), Virtual meeting via MS teams

# **PRESENT**

**Members** 

# **Democratic Alliance**

America, D (Chairperson) Maseko, LM Murray, C

### **African National Congress**

Dugmore, CM

#### **Economic Freedom Fighters**

Makamba-Botya, N (EFF)

# The following persons were in attendance:

#### Local Government

Mr G Paulse, Head of Department Ms E Barnard, Chief Director: Municipal Performance, Monitoring and Support Dr S Greyling, Director: Municipal Support and Capacity Building Mr N Rylands, Director: District & Local Performance Monitoring

# **Provincial Treasury**

Mr D Savage, Head of Department Ms M van Niekerk, Director: Financial Governance Mr I Smith, Chief Director: Asset Management Mr F Salie, Director: LGA Mr A Hardien, Chief Director - FGA Mr T Ntshingila, Director: Local Government Finance Group 1 Mr I Tsie, Director: Local Government Finance Group 2 Mr E Johannes, Director: MFMA Coordination Mr D Cronje, Director: MFMA Coordination

# South African Local Government Association (SALGA)

Cllr C Punt, Provincial Legislature Representatives Cllr P Swart, Provincial Legislature Representatives Cllr C Pophaim, City of Cape Town, Chairperson for Governance, and Intergovernmental Relations Working Group Mr K Mullagie, Provincial Director of Operations Mr A Mpela, Senior Advisor: IGR and Strategic Relations Mr N September, Senior Advisor: Financial Resilience Mr L Njamela, Advisor: IGR and Strategic Relations

# Office of the Auditor-General

Mr G van der Hoven, Stakeholder Liaison Manager Mr A Olckers, Mr Z Mvimbeli, Stakeholder Liaison Manager's Office Mr T Mohloni, Stakeholder Liaison Manager's Office

### Western Cape Provincial Parliament

Mr J Coetzee, Procedural Officer Mr J Vermeulen, Senior Procedural Officer Mr S Hassan, ICT Support Ms N Mshumpela, Committee Assistant

### 1. Opening and welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the members of the Committee, the Head of Department of Local Government, Head of Provincial Treasury, Departmental officials, representatives from SALGA and the Office of the Auditor-General.

2. Briefing by the Department of Local Government, Provincial Treasury and SALGA on the Audit Outcomes of the municipalities in the Western Cape for the 2020/21 financial year with specific reference to the underperforming municipalities and the corrective measures and support envisage to these municipalities.

Ms Barnard from the Department, Mr Hardien from Provincial Treasury and Mr September from SALGA briefed the Committee on the Consolidated General Report on Local Government Audit outcomes (MFMA 2020/21).

The Committee deliberated.

# 3. Resolutions/Actions

- 3.1 The Committee RESOLVED to invite the Head of the Portfolio in the Office of the Auditor-General to brief the Committee on the material irregularities as reflected in the Auditor General's report on Municipalities.
- 3.2 The Committee REQUEST that the Department to provide the Committee with the Financial Recovery Plan for Beaufort West Municipality.

The meeting adjourned at 12:20.

Marica

MR D AMERICA, MPP CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT