

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

Ref: 11/4/1/2/7

DRAFT MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

STANDING COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORT AND PUBLIC WORKS

Wednesday, 16 March 2022 (at 08:30), MS Teams Virtual Meeting

PRESENT

Members

Democratic Alliance

America, D (Chairperson) Maseko, M Van der Westhuizen, AP

African National Congress

Mvimbi, LM

Additional member

Nkondlo, N (ANC)

Absent

August, S (GOOD)

The following persons were in attendance:

Department of Transport and Public Works

Mr D Mitchell, Minister for Transport and Public Works

Ms J Gooch, Head of Department

Ms A Campbell, Chief Director: General Infrastructure

Adv C Smith, Chief Financial Officer

Mr G Kode, Deputy Director-General: Provincial Public Works

Mr C Roos, Head of Ministry

Ms D Ribbonaar, Chief Director: Transport Operations

Ms R Kok, Chief Director: Health Infrastructure

Ms G Van Schalkwyk, Chief Director: Policy and Strategy Integration

Mr K Booysen, Director: Strategic Management Support

Adv K Reinecke, Deputy Director-General: Transport Management

Mr L Fourie, Chief Director: Road Network Management Ms M Nicholas, Director: Management Accounting

Mr S Hindley, Head of Component: Immovable Asset Management

Mr F Payne, Director: Traffic Law Enforcement
Mr B Rahim, Director: Financial Governance

Mr A Nell, Director: Construction and Maintenance

Mr C October, Director: Road Planning Ms M Hofmeyr, Director: Road Design

Mr R Maharaj, Chief Director: Strategic Management and Operational Support

Mr R Petersen, Chief Director: Expanded Public Works Programme

Mr T Pillay, Chief Director: Public Private Partnership Ms S Andrews, Director: Logistics and Asset Management Mr Y Ahmed, Chief Director: Transport Regulation

Mr R Wiggill, Director: Fleet Finance

Mr A Janse Van Rensburg, Director: Fleet Services

Ms P van der Merwe, Director: Governance and Demand Management

Mr C Marx, Director: Operational Support Ms F Rayi, Director: Professional Development

Mr J Prodehl, Chief Engineer: Eden

Ms B Mayente, SANCO

Mr S Qwetyiwe, Du Noon Taxi Association

Western Cape Provincial Parliament

Mr J Coetzee, Procedural Officer

Mr J Vermeulen, Senior Procedural Officer

Mr S Hassam, ICT Support

Ms C Morris, ICT Support

Ms N Mshumpela, Committee Assistant

1. Opening and welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the members of the Committee and the officials.

Deliberation on Vote 10: Transport and Public Works, in the Schedule to the Western Cape Additional Adjustment Appropriation Bill (2021/22 Financial Year) [B 1–2022]

The Department briefed the Committee on Vote 10 in the Schedule to the Western Cape Additional Adjustment Appropriation Bill (2021/22 Financial Year) [B 1–2022] highlighting the adjustments to its budget allocations.

The Committee deliberated.

3. Deliberation on Vote 10: Transport and Public Works, in the Schedule to the Western Cape Appropriation Bill [B 2–2022]

The Department briefed the Committee on Vote 10 in the Schedule to the Western Cape Appropriation Bill [B2–2022] highlighting its budget allocations.

The Committee deliberated.

Members of the public were given an opportunity to provide input on Vote 10, Transport and Public Works.

Ms B Mayente of SANCO and Mr S Qwetyiwe of the Du Noon Taxi Association were afforded the opportunity to ask questions on Vote 10. Minister Mitchell responded and informed the Committee that he was scheduled to meet with the Du Noon Taxi Association on 22 March 2022 during which the concerns highlighted would be discussed.

4. Consideration and adoption of the Committee Reports on Vote 10: Transport and Public Works in the Schedules to the Western Cape Additional Adjustments Appropriation Bill (2021/22 Financial Year) [B1–2022] and the Western Cape Appropriation Bill [B2–2022]

The Chairperson submitted a Draft Report on Vote 10 in the Schedule to the Western Cape Additional Adjustment Appropriation Bill (2021/22 Financial Year) [B 1–2022] and a Draft Report on Vote 10 in the Schedule to the Western Cape Appropriation Bill [B 2–2022], after which the Committee supported the Votes in both Schedules and adopted the Reports. In accordance with Standing Rule 90, the African National Congress expressed its minority view that it did not support the Votes.

5. Western Cape Provincial Transport Infrastructure Bill [B 5–2021]

The Chairperson informed the Committee that the Department of Transport and Public Works briefed the Committee on 24 August 2021 on the Bill. Due to the time lapsed from the date of the briefing and the number of new members on the Committee, the Committee RESOLVED that:

- 5.1 The Department of Transport and Public Works brief the Committee on a future date on the Bill as well as any written comments on the advertisements;
- 5.2 Advertisements be placed in Die Burger, Cape Argus, The Voice, City Vision and the local newspapers in the George, Saldanha Bay and Laingsburg regions;
- 5.3 The Committee conduct four public hearings in George, Cape Town, Saldanha Bay and Laingsburg; and
- 5.4 The Chairperson and the Procedural Officer consult the Programme Authority to determine proposed dates for the hearings.

6. Adoption of Draft Committee Minutes

The Chairperson submitted the Draft Committee Minutes of 23 February 2022, which were considered and adopted.

7. Resolutions/Actions

- 7.1 The Committee RESOLVED to:
- 7.1.1 Obtain the submission by the Du Noon Taxi Association and at a future date invite the Association and the Department to brief the Committee on their discussions; and

7.1.2 That the Department brief the Committee on transport planning in view of the rapid increase in the population of the Western Cape, including the current transport pressures, and the Department's readiness to address these challenges.

The meeting adjourned at 12:47.

MR D AMERICA, MPP

CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORT AND PUBLIC WORKS