

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo IeNtshona Koloni

MEETING MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS BUDGET COMMITTEE 22 April 2022 (09:00) Virtual Meeting via MS Teams

# ATTENDANCE

# Members

Baartman (DA) (Chairperson) Bosman, G (DA) Brinkhuis, G (Al Jama-ah) Mackenzie, RD (DA) Mvimbi, LL (ANC)

# **Alternate Members**

Nkondlo, N (ANC) Maseko, M (DA)

# **National Treasury**

Mr A Xaba, Director Mr K Molukanele, Senior Economist Mr L Pakkies, Director Ms P Mavhungu, Budget Analyst

# **Provincial Treasury**

Mr M Booysen Ms C Horten

# Western Cape Provincial Parliament

Ms L Cloete, Senior Procedural Officer Ms M Motsapi, Committee Assistant Ms W Achmat Procedural Officer

# 1. Welcome and attendance

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the Committee Members and officials.

# 2. Briefing by National Treasury on the Division of Revenue Bill [B 6–2022] (NCOP)

The officials from National Treasury presented to the Committee on the aforementioned subject matter.

The Committee deliberated on the content of the presentation.

#### 3. Public Hearing on the Division of Revenue Bill [B 6-2022] (NCOP)

The Chairperson gave members of the public an opportunity to give input on the Division of Revenue Bill [B 6 - 2022] (NCOP). No public was present.

# 4. Consideration and adoption of the draft Committee Report on the Negotiating Mandate on the Division of Revenue Bill [B 6–2022] (NCOP)

The Chairperson introduced the Committee Report on the Negotiating Mandate on the Division of Revenue Bill [B 6–2022] (NCOP).

Member Mackenzie provided inputs on the negotiation mandate, in the form of a Report. Member Mackenzie indicated that he does not support the Bill and provided the reasons in writing.

Member Mackenzie presented this Report to the Committee.

Members Brinkhuis indicated that Al-Jama-ah support the Bill.

Members Bosman and Baartman indicated that they support Member Mackenzie's inputs in not supporting the Bill.

The Chairperson read the negotiating mandate as follow; that the Budget Committee, having considered the subject of the Division of Revenue Bill [B 6-2021] (NCOP) referred to it in accordance with Standing Rule 217, confers on the Western Cape's delegation in the NCOP the authority to not support the Bill.

The Report of Member Mackenzie was included in the negotiating mandate of the Committee as a motivation for its decision.

In terms of Standing Rule 90 of the Western Cape Provincial Parliaments' Standing Rules, Al Jama-Ah expressed its minority view to support the Bill.

# 5. Consideration and adoption of the Draft Committee Minutes of the meetings held on 25 March 2022

The Chairperson submitted the Draft Committee Minutes of the meetings held on 25 March 2022, which was considered and adopted.

#### 6. Resolutions/Actions

- 6.1 The Committee RECOMMENDED that the National Treasury include the previous three Medium-Term Expenditure Framework (MTEF) periods and the rate of change in future presentations.
- 6.2 The Committee REQUESTED National Treasury to provide the Committee with the following:
- 6.2.1 A list of the health facilities that did not provide their data for the Provincial Equitable Share.
- 6.2.2 A report on the funding that will be used to upgrade the infrastructure at power stations.

- 6.2.3 A report detailing the manner in which the Department will deal with the locusts' invasion.
- 6.2.4 That the WCPP provide the respective legislative documents relevant to the mandate of the Committee to all Budget Committee Members. (i.e. Juta collection)

Having concluded its business for the day, the meeting adjourned at 11:48.

ADV D BAARTMAN, MPP CHAIRPERSON: BUDGET COMMITTEE DATE: 6 May 2022



#### Friday, 22 April 2022 Virtual meeting 09h00 – 12h00

TITLE	INITIALS	SURNAME	DESIGNATION POSITION	DEPARTMENT INSTITUTION	CONTACT NUMBER
Mr	М	Booysen	Chief Director	Provincial Treasury	082 895 1798
Ms	А	Xaba		National Treasury	
Mr	L	Pakkie	Director	National Treasury	
Mr	К	Molukane		National Treasury	
Ms	С	Horton		National Treasury	
Ms	Р	Mavhungu		National Treasury	
Ms	S	Davids		Provincial Treasury	
Ms	Т	Marinus		Provincial Treasury	
Ms	J	Ford		Provincial Treasury	
	1	1	1	1	1