

# Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

Ref: 11/4/1/2/5

# DEAFT MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

#### STANDING COMMITTEE ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT

Tuesday, 28 February 2023 (at 09:00), Virtual meeting via MS Teams

#### **PRESENT**

### **Members**

#### **Democratic Alliance**

Sileku, I (Chairperson) Murray, C Maseko, LM

#### **African National Congress**

Marran, P

#### **Economic Freedom Fighters**

Klaas, TM

## **Apology**

Dugmore, CM

#### The following persons were in attendance:

#### **Department of Local Government**

Mr A Dlwengu, Director: Policy and Strategic Support Ms N Zamxaka, Chief Director: Integrated Service Delivery

Mr C Deiner, Chief Director: Disaster Management and Fire Services

Adv G Birch, Director: Specialised Support

Mr N Rylands, Director: District and Local Performance Monitoring Dr S Greyling, Director: Municipal Support and Capacity Building

Mr S Carstens, Director: Disaster Risk Reduction Mr K Makan: Director Municipal Governance Ms A Jacobs, Deputy Director: Financial Planning

Ms B Mabiya Ms S Chinnian

#### **Provincial Treasury**

Mr S Kenyon, Chief Director: Local Government Public Finance Mr A Hardien, Chief Director: Governance and Asset Management

Mr D Cronje, Director: MFMA Coordination

#### **SALGA**

Councillor C Pophaim, SALGA GIGR Chairperson
Councillor G Combrink, SALGA Provincial Representative
Mr M Mpela, Senior Advisor: IGR and Strategic Relations and Governance
Mr N September, Senior Advisor Municipal Finance
Mr L Njamela, Advisor IGR and Strategic Relations

#### **Western Cape Provincial Parliament**

Mr J Coetzee, Procedural Officer Ms N Mshumpela, Committee Assistant

#### 1. Opening and welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the Members of the Committee, the Minister of Local Government, Environmental Affairs and Development Planning, Head of Department, and the Departmental officials. The Chairperson indicated that he received apologies from Mr G Paulse, Head of Department, Ms B Sewlall-Singh, Chief Financial Officer, Ms E Barnard, Chief Director: Municipal Performance, Monitoring and Support, and Mr M Pretorius due to prior commitments.

2. Briefing by the Department on its 3rd Quarterly Performance Report (October 2022 – December 2022) and Expenditure Report

Mr Dlwengu briefed the Committee on the Department's 3<sup>rd</sup> Quarterly Performance Report after which Ms Jacobs briefed the Committee on the Department's expenditure for the same period.

The Committee deliberated.

3. Briefing by Provincial Treasury on the unfunded and under-funded mandates / budgets at municipalities as well as the processes followed by the Provincial Government regarding the late payments to Eskom and the Auditor-General South Africa (AGSA)by municipalities

Mr Kenyon, briefed the Committee on Unfunded Budgets while Mr Hardien and Mr Cronje briefed the Committee on Outstanding Municipal Debt: Eskom and AGSA and Unfunded Municipal Mandates respectively.

The Committee deliberated.

# 5. Consideration and adoption of Draft Committee Minutes

The Chairperson submitted the Draft Committee Minutes of 28 November 2022 and 24 February 2023, which were considered and adopted.

#### 6. Resolutions

The Committee RESOLVED that it would in future invite:

- 6.1 The Department and SALGA to brief it on the MPACS in the province and the appointment of MPAC Chairpersons as full time Councillors;
- 6.2 SALGA to discuss key issues regarding unfunded budgets and unfunded mandates and their interventions as organised local government in terms of assistance and support; and
- 6.3 The Department to provide the Committee with detail on the number of municipalities that are fulfilling mandates for which they are not mandated and the plans that are in place to address the matter.

The meeting adjourned at 11:39.

MR I SILEKU, MPP

**CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT**