

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo IeNtshona Koloni

Ref No. 11/3/4

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

AD-HOC COMMITTEE ON ENERGY CRISIS

Thursday, 16 March 2023 (13:30), Virtual via MS Teams

ATTENDANCE

Members:

Democratic Alliance

America, D

Baartman, D Fry, C (Chairperson) Maseko, M Murray, C Pretorius, G Sileku, I van der Westhuizen, AP

Economic Freedom Fighters

Cassiem, A

Absent

August, S (GOOD) Brinkhuis, K (Al-JAMAH) Christians, F (ACDP) Dugmore, C (ANC) Marais, P (FF Plus) Nkondlo, N (ANC)

1. Welcome

The Senior Procedural Officer welcomed the Members. The Senior Procedural Officer noted that no apologies had been submitted from any Members and proceeded with the first agenda item for the meeting.

2. Election of the Chairperson

The Senior Procedural Officer informed the Committee that the purpose of the meeting was to elect a Chairperson for the Ad-Hoc Committee on Energy Crisis as per Standing Rule 82(1) of the Standing Rules of the Western Cape Provincial Parliament. The Committee proceeded to the election of the Chairperson in terms of Standing Rule 82(1), which states that "A committee must elect a chairperson from its membership".

The floor was opened for nominations for a chairperson.

Member Baartman nominated Member Fry as the Chairperson of the Ad-Hoc Committee. This nomination was seconded by Member Maseko. There were no further nominations and the motion was agreed to. Member Fry was duly elected as the Chairperson of the Ad-Hoc Committee.

The Chairperson informed the Members that he would meet with the Senior Procedural Officer to discuss the Committee Programme, which will then be communicated to the Members.

The meeting adjourned at 13:36.

MR C FRY, MPP CHAIRPERSON: AD-HOC COMMITTEE ON ENERGY CRISIS DATE: