

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

STANDING COMMITTEE ON FINANCE, ECONOMIC OPPORTUNITIES AND TOURISM

Friday, 17 March 2023 (13h00), Virtual Meeting via MS Teams

ATTENDANCE

Members:

Democratic Alliance

Murray, C (Chairperson) Sileku, I Van der Westhuizen, A

African National Congress

Nkondlo, N

Al Jama-ah

Brinkhuis, K

The following persons were in attendance:

*The attendance list is copied below

Western Cape Provincial Parliament

Ms Z Adams, Procedural Officer
Ms L Cloete, Senior Procedural Officer
Ms M Mrubata, Committee Assistant

1. Welcome and attendance

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the Minister, Members, Department of Economic Development and Tourism and members of the public to the meeting to deliberate on Vote 12: Department of Economic Development and Tourism in the Schedule to the Western Cape Appropriation Bill [B 2-2023]. The Chairperson noted an apology from the Head of Department, Mr V Dube. The Chairperson explained the rules of engagement for virtual meetings. Thereafter, the Chairperson allowed brief introductions by the Minister and the Head of the Department.

2. Consideration of Vote 12: Department of Economic Development and Tourism in the Schedule to the Western Cape Appropriation Bill [B 2–2023]

The Minister and Mr R Toefy (Acting Head of the Department) gave brief introductory remarks on the budget for Vote 12: Department of Economic Development and Tourism.

The Committee proceeded to a discussion on Vote 12.

The Committee deliberated and engaged the Department on Vote 12. The Chairperson thanked the Department for its hard work in the sector, and its preparation and responses to the questions raised by the Committee members.

The Chairperson noted that there were no questions or comments from the public.

Thereafter, on conclusion of the deliberations on the Vote, the Chairperson noted that the Committee supported Vote 12: Department of Economic Development and Tourism, in the Schedule to the Western Cape Appropriation Bill, and that the African National Congress and Al Jama-ah expressed their minority view, in accordance with Standing Rule 90, to not support the Vote.

3. Consideration and Adoption of the Draft Committee Report on Vote 12: Department of Economic Development and Tourism in the Schedule to the Western Cape Appropriation Bill [B 2–2023]

The Chairperson submitted the draft Committee Report, which was considered and adopted.

4. Resolutions/Actions

- 4.1 The Committee REQUESTED an update from the Department of Economic Development and Tourism on the Green Economy projects in the Province (focused on Small, Medium and Micro Enterprises) once their deliberations with their national partners have concluded. The report should include information on what these Green Economy projects are and how they would be identified and implemented.
- 4.2 The Committee RESOLVED the following:
- 4.2.1 To invite the Department of Economic Development and Tourism to brief the Committee on the Growth for Jobs Strategy once it has been launched, especially around the strategy that will speak to the informal economy and township economy; and
- 4.2.2 To visit the Atlantis Special Economic Zone when the programme allows for it.

The meeting adjourned at 15h20.

MS CAT MURRAY, MPP

CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON FINANCE, ECONOMIC OPPORTUNITIES AND

TOURISM

WESTERN CAPE PROVINCIAL PARLIAMENT

nding Committee on Finance, Economic Opportunities and Tourism

PUBLIC ATTENDANCE REGISTER

Friday, 17 March 2023 Venue: Virtual (MS TEAMS) Time: 13h00 – 17h00

TITLE	INITIALS	SURNAME	DESIGNATION POSITION	DEPARTMENT INSTITUTION	CONTACT NUMBER
Mr	G	Van de Horst		WESGRO	
Mr	Α	Searle		DEDAT	
Mr	F	Dharsey		DEDAT	
Mr	F	Abrahams		DEDAT	
Ms	Н	Davies		WESGRO	
Mr	J	Peters			
Mr	J	Wolmarans		DEDAT	
Ms	M	Ellis		DEDAT	
Ms	W	Wenger	MEC		
Mr	M	Van Wyk		DEDAT	
Ms	С	Julies			
Mr	D	Southgate		DEDAT	
Mr	G	Steyn		DEDAT	
Mr	R	Toefy		DEDAT	
Ms	1	Van Schalkwyk		DEDAT	
Ms	J	Tywnam		WESGRO	
Ms	J	Johnson		WESGRO	
Ms	M	Luel		WESGRO	
Mr	J	Arnold		WESGRO	
Mr	J	Jean		WESGRO	
Ms	M	Abrahams		DEDAT	
Mr	N	Joseph		DEDAT	
Ms	Р	Moedley		DEDAT	
Ms	R	Londley			
Ms	W	Stander		DEDAT	
Mr	R	Le Brenton		DEDAT	
Mr	S	Gcwabe		DEDAT	
Ms	W	Saib			
Mr	Т	Parle			
Mr	М	Cullinan		ASEZ	
Ms	Н	Matakane			
Mr	G	Oliver			
Mr	Н	Jonker			