

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo IeNtshona Koloni

Ref: 11/4/1/2/5

# DEAFT MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

# STANDING COMMITTEE ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT

Tuesday, 11 April 2023 (at 09:00), Committee room 2, 4th floor, 7 Wale Street, Cape Town

#### PRESENT

**Members** 

#### **Democratic Alliance**

Sileku, I (Chairperson) America, D (Alternate) Maseko, LM

#### **Economic Freedom Fighters**

Klaas, TM

## Apologies

Murray, C (DA) Dugmore, CM (ANC)

#### The following persons were in attendance:

#### **Department of Local Government**

Mr C Deiner, Acting Head of Department (Chief Director: Disaster Management and Fire Services) Adv G Birch, Director: Specialised Support Mr N Rylands, Director: District and Local Performance Monitoring Ms M Green, Acting Director Municipal Support and Capacity Building Mr M Brand, Director: Municipal Infrastructure Mr K Makan: Director Municipal Governance

## South African Local Government Association

Councillor C Pophaim, Provincial Executive Member Councillor P Swart, Provincial Executive Member Councillor G Combrink, Provincial Executive Member Mr L Njamela, Advisor IGR and Strategic Relations

#### Western Cape Provincial Parliament

Mr J Coetzee, Procedural Officer Ms N Mshumpela, Committee Assistant

#### 1. Opening and welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the members of the Committee and the officials. Mr Diener, Acting Head of Department submitted apologies for Mr A Bredell, Minister for Local Government, Environmental Affairs and Development Planning, Mr G Paulse, Head of Department and Ms E Barnard, Chief Director: Municipal Performance Monitoring and Support

# 2. Briefing by the Department regarding the progress on the Section 139 (5) intervention and the Financial Recovery Plan at Beaufort West and the Section 154 Support Plan at Kannaland and Laingsburg Municipalities

Adv. Birch briefed the Committee on the intervention and the Financial Recovery Plan at Beaufort West and the Support Plan at Kannaland and Laingsburg Municipalities.

Committee deliberated.

The Committee deliberated.

#### 3. Resolutions

The Committee RESOLVED that it would in future invite:

3.1 The Department of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (COGTA), Department of Local Government, Provincial Treasury, SALGA, Auditor-General and Kannaland Municipality to a follow-up discussion on the recovery plan at Kannaland Municipality.

## 4. Information Requested

The Committee REQUESTED that the Department provides it with:

- 4.1 The background information of the court cases where the recovery plans were challenged in court and the corrective measures could not be implemented;
- 4.2 The Financial Recovery Plans for Beaufort West Municipality, Kannaland Municipality and Laingsburg Municipality; and
- **4.3** A legal framework on ways to compel/force municipalities to use the support given to them and implement the interventions, because of the cost to develop the interventions.

The meeting adjourned at 11:10.

MR I SILEKU, MPP CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT