

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

Ref: 11/4/1/2/7

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

STANDING COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORT AND PUBLIC WORKS

Tuesday, 30 May 2023 (at 18:00), Chamber, 6th floor, 7 Wale Street, Cape Town

PRESENT

Members

Democratic Alliance

America, D (Chairperson) Sileku, I Murray, C (Alternate)

African National Congress

Mvimbi, LM

Apology

Van der Westhuizen, AP (DA)

The following persons were in attendance:

Department of Transport

Adv J G Makgatho (National Road Traffic A/B)
Mr M Ngcamu, Chief Director (Economic Regulation of Transport Bill)
Mr A Chikambvi, Project leader (Economic Regulation of Transport Bill)

Department of Mobility

Adv R Collins, Director: Land Transport Contracts
Mr F Mbambo, Director: Land Transport Integration and Oversight
Mr R Barreiro

Department of the Premier

Ms A Muller, State Legal Advisor Ms S Seria, State Legal Advisor Mr L van der Schyff, State Legal Advisor

SALGA

Clr R Don
Clr G Combrink
Clr C Punt
Mr M Mpela
Mr U Mntonintshi
Ms S Harigobin
Mr L Njamela

Golden Arrow

Mr D Meyer, General Manager Adv M Titus, Legal Advisor

Mr Y Smith (Private)

Western Cape Provincial Parliament

Adv A le Roux, Senior Legal Advisor Mr J Coetzee, Procedural Officer Ms N Mshumpela, Committee Assistant

1. Opening and welcome

The Chairperson opened the hearing and welcomed the members of the Committee and the officials and members of the public. The Chairperson proceeded to provide an overview and purpose of the public hearing process.

 Briefings by the Department of Transport on the Economic Regulation of Transport Bill [B 1B– 2020] (NCOP), National Land Transport Amendment Bill [B 7F–2016] (NCOP) and the National Road Traffic Amendment Bill [B 7B–2020] (NCOP)

Mr Ngcamu briefed the hearing on the Economic Regulation of Transport Bill and Adv Makgatho briefed the hearing on the National Road Traffic Amendment Bill [B 7B–2020] (NCOP).

3. Submissions by the public on the Economic Regulation of Transport Bill [B 1B–2020] (NCOP), National Land Transport Amendment Bill [B 7F–2016] (NCOP) and the National Road Traffic Amendment Bill [B 7B–2020] (NCOP)

The Chairperson afforded the public and stakeholders an opportunity to make submissions during the public hearing.

Submissions were made by Mr U Mntonintshi, SALGA, Adv M Titus, Golden Arrow and Mr Y Smith.

The meeting adjourned at 20:14.

MR D AMERICA, MPP

CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORT AND PUBLIC WORKS