

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo IeNtshona Koloni

MEETING MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE PREMIER AND CONSTITUTIONAL MATTERS Friday 28 July 2023 (09:00) Virtual Meeting via MS Teams

PRESENT Members:

Democratic Alliance

Fry, C (Chairperson) Plato, G (Alternate) Bosman, G (Alternate)

African National Congress

Dugmore, C

Apologies

Baartman, D Pretorius, G

Western Cape Provincial Parliament

Achmat, W (Procedural Officer) Vermeulen, J (Senior Procedural Officer) Mshumpela (Committee Assistant)

Officials

Attached below

1. Welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the Committee Members and officials.

2. Briefing by the Western Cape Provincial Parliament on the Constitution of the Western Cape Amendment Bill (Determination of Number of Members) [B7 - 2023]

The officials from the Department briefed the Members on the subject at hand.

The Committee engaged the officials on the content of the presentations.

3. Consideration of the draft Committee Programme for the Constitution of the Western Cape Amendment Bill (Determination of Number of Members) [B7 - 2023]

The Committee discussed the way forward for the draft Committee Programme for the Constitution of the Western Cape Amendment Bill (Determination of Number of Members) [B7 - 2023].

4. Consideration and adoption of the draft Committee Meeting Minutes of 9 June 2023

The Chairperson submitted the Draft Committee Minutes of a meeting held on 9 June 2023, which was considered and adopted.

5. Resolutions/Actions

- 5.1 The Committee RESOLVED:
- 5.1.1 To host three public hearings in the following areas: George, Saldanha and Cape Town.
- 5.1.2 That the Public Education and Outreach unit host public outreach programmes.
- 5.1.3 That the public hearing dates be advertised as per the media plan that will be prepared by the Communications Unit.

MR CFRY, MPP

CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE PREMIER AND CONSTITUTIONAL MATTERS DATE: 29 September 2023

TITLE	NAME	SURNAME	DESIGNATION POSITION	DEPARTMENT INSTITUTION
Mr	Andre	Le Roux		
Ms	Carolyn	Prakasim		
Ms	Elizabeth	Cloete		
Mr	Jannie	Uys		
Ms	Lorika	Elliot		
Mr	Mario	Sassman		
Mr	Nicolas	Dias		
Mr	Romeo	Adams		
Ms	Saskia	Fischer		
Mr	Thembalethu	Keswa		
Mr	Matthys	Odendal		
Ms	Waseemah	Kamish-Achmat		

Mr	Johan	Vermeulen	
Ms	Nomfundo	Mshumpela	
Ms	Candice	Morris	
Mr	Siraaj	Hassam	