Western Cape Provincial Parliament

AD-HOC COMMITTEE ON ENERGY CRISIS



Chairperson: C Fry

Senior Procedural Officer: Lizette Cloete Tel: 021 487-1667 Cell: 072 541 8510 Email: <u>lhcloete@wcpp.gov.za</u>

Manager: Mario Sassman Tel: 021 487-1681 Cell: 084 472 7626 Email: msassman@wcpp.gov.za

(Ref no:) 11/3/4

NOTICE OF A MEETING

Please note that a meeting of the above Committee will take place as follows:

Date : Wednesday, 27 September 2023

Time : 14:00-18:00

Venue : Virtual meeting via MS Teams

AGENDA

- 1. Welcome
- 2. Briefing by the Department of Local Government on the following:
 - 2.1 The funding allocated to the Central Karoo District Municipality and its local municipalities.
 - 2.2 The total allocation of funds awarded to each municipality, and the extent of consultations with each municipality in terms of the allocation required.
 - 2.3 A list of requests from municipalities for rollovers of grants for the 2022/23 allocation for Emergency Energy Funds grant, the reason for the request for rollover and the status of these requests.
 - 2.4 The formula of allocation and the basis for each allocation to each municipality to address the Energy Crisis, including any financial or market studies done on the costs for generators and any other provisions related to municipalities energy needs.
- 3. Engagement with municipalities on the projected plans for the 2023/24 Energy Infrastructure allocations including the Emergency funding allocated to assist municipalities:
 - 4.1 Garden Route District Municipality
 - 4.2 Kannaland Municipality
 - 4.3 Hessequa Municipality
 - 4.4 Mossel Bay Municipality
 - 4.5 George Municipality
 - 4.6 Oudtshoorn Municipality
 - 4.7 Bitou Municipality
 - 4.8 Knysna Municipality
- 4. Resolutions/Actions

Above agenda items may be rearranged by the Committee at short notice

Should you be unable to attend kindly forward apologies to the Procedural Officer as well as arrange for an alternate and indicate the name of the alternate at your earliest convenience.