

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo IeNtshona Koloni

Ref: 11/4/7

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

STANDING COMMITTEE ON MOBILITY

Monday, 30 October 2023 (at 09:00), Chamber, 6th floor, 7 Wale Street, Cape Town

PRESENT

<u>Members</u>

Democratic Alliance

America, D , R (Chairperson) Van der Westhuizen, AP Sileku, I Maseko, M (Additional)

African National Congress

Mvimbi, LM Nkondlo, ND (Additional)

The following persons were in attendance:

Department of Transport and Public Works

Mr T Simmers, Minister for Infrastructure Mr R Mackenzie, Minister for Mobility

Ms J Gooch, Head of Department: Infrastructure Ms. M Moore, Head of Department: Mobility Mr M Y Ahmed, Chief Director: GMT Ms D Ribbonaar, Chief Director: Transport Operations Mr F Payne, Chief Director: Traffic Management Ms B MacMahon, Acting Chief Director: Mobility Regulation Ms A Campbell, Chief Director: General Infrastructure Adv C Smith, Chief Financial Officer Ms G Van Schalkwyk, Chief Director: Policy and Strategy Integration Mr L Fourie, Chief Director: Road Network Management Ms M Nicholas, Director: Management Accounting Mr S Hindley, Head of Component: Immovable Asset Management Mr A Nell, Director: Construction and Maintenance Mr C October, Director: Road Planning Mr J Prodehl, Chief Engineer: Eden Ms M Hofmeyr, Director: Road Design Mr R Maharaj, Chief Director: Strategic Management and Operational Support Mr R Petersen, Chief Director: Expanded Public Works Programme Mr T Pillay, Chief Director: Public Private Partnership Mr J Fabricius, Director: Financial Accounting Ms P van der Merwe, Director: Governance and Demand Management Mr C Marx, Director: Operational Support

Office of the Auditor-General

Ms N Ndzamela, Senior Manager Mr V Langford, Audit Manager Ms A Krieg, Audit Manager

Western Cape Provincial Parliament

Mr J Coetzee, Procedural Officer Ms N Mshumpela, Committee Assistant Mr S Hassam, ICT Support

1. Opening and welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the Members of the Committee, the Ministers, the Heads of Departments and Departmental officials.

2. Deliberation on the Annual Reports of the Department of Transport and Public Works and Government Motor Transport (GMT) for the 2022/2023 financial year

The Ministers and Head of Department provided a brief overview of the Annual Reports of the Department and GMT, focussing on the highlights and challenges during the 2022/23 financial year.

The Committee proceeded to a discussion on Part A: General Information, Part B: Performance Information and Part D: Human Resource Management of the Annual Reports.

The Committee deliberated.

3. Information requested

The Committee REQUESTED that:

- 3.1 The Department provides the Committee with the number of vehicles in the Western Cape impoundment facilities as on 31 March 2022, 31 March 2023 and 31 October 2023 and the impoundment fees for the same periods; and
- 3.2 Government Motor Transport provides the Committee with the outstanding debt per client as on 31 March 2022, 31 March 2023 and 31 October 2023 and indicate which of the outstanding debt is older than 30 days.

4. Acknowledgement

The Committee congratulated the Department on their performance for the 2022/23 financial year, wherein they spent 99,8% of their budget. The Committee further congratulates the Department and GMT on achieving their 11th consecutive unqualified audit opinion without findings.

The Committee noted the expiration of Ms Gooch's employment on 31 October 2023 and acknowledged that Ms Gooch is a remarkable woman who is known for her integrity, governance, and ethics, as well as her sharp mind and incredible knowledge. She has been the Head of Department of the Western Cape Department of Transport and Public Works since November 2013. Her respectful leadership style has built a team that is not only innovative at all levels but also empowered through her incredible commitment to improve the lives of all the people of the province.

The Committee expressed its appreciation to the Traffic Law Enforcement Officers and wished them well during the execution of their duties over the upcoming festive season, to ensure roads are safe for all road users.

The Chairperson thanked the Members of the Committee, Ministers Simmers and Mackenzie, the Head of Departments, Ms Gooch and Ms Moore and all the officials of the Department for their preparation and responses to the questions raised by the Committee.

The meeting adjourned at 12:40.

Merica

MR D AMERICA, MPP CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON MOBILITY