

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo IeNtshona Koloni

Ref: WCPP 11/4/8

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE, ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND DEVELOPMENT PLANNING

Thursday 30 November 2023 (at 10:15), Virtual Meeting via Microsoft Teams

PRESENT

Members

Democratic Alliance

America, D Murray, CA Van Der Westhuizen, AP (Chairperson)

African National Congress

Marran, P

GOOD

De Villiers, PT

Apologies:

Department of Environmental Affairs and Development Planning

Mr A Mohamed, Chief Director - Environmental Governance, Policy Coordination and Enforcement Mr K Munro, Director - Development Management Adv Charmaine Mare, Director - Environmental Governance Ms M Laros, Director – Coastal Management

The following persons were in attendance:

Ministry of Local Government, Environmental Affairs and Development Planning

Mr A Bredell, Minister of Local Government, Environmental Affairs and Development Planning

Department of Environmental Affairs and Development Planning

Mr G Gerber, Head of Department Ms F Mabusela, Chief Director - Development Planning Ms K Shippey, Chief Director - Environmental Sustainability Mr G Arendse, Chief Director - Environmental Quality Mr A Gaffoor, Director - Strategic and Operational Support Mr J Fritz, Director - Financial Management Mr Z Toefy, Director - Development Planning Mr A Bassier, Director - Law Enforcement Ms C Stone, Director - Spatial Planning Mr F Wust, Director - Regional Socio-Economic Project Mr G Benjamin, Director - Development Planning (George office) Mr G Isaacs, Director - Climate Change Ms H Jacobs, Director - Development Planning, Intelligence Management and Research Ms N Davis-Wolmarans, Director - Pollution and Waste Management Mr P Hardcastle, Director - Planning and Policy Coordination Mr R Mukanya, Director - Environmental Sustainability Mr S Haider, Director - Waste Management Ms T Jordan, Director - Development Facilitation

CapeNature

Dr R Omar, Chief Executive Officer Mr M Bhayat, Chief Financial Officer

WCPP Officials

Ms S Niekerk, Procedural Officer Ms N Mshumpela, Committee Assistant Ms C Morris, Information Technology Assistant

1. Opening and welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the members of the Committee, the Minister, Head of Department, Chief Executive Officer of CapeNature and officials.

2. Deliberation on Vote 9: Environmental Affairs and Development Planning in the Schedule to the Western Cape Adjustments Appropriation Bill [B 7–2023]

The Department briefed the Committee on Vote 9 in the Schedule to the Western Cape Adjustments Appropriation Bill [B 7–2023].

The Committee deliberated after which it agreed to support the Vote. The African National Congress did not support the Vote.

3. Consideration and adoption of Draft Committee Report on Vote 9: Environmental Affairs and Development Planning in the Schedule to the Western Cape Adjustments Appropriation Bill [B 7–2023]

Upon conclusion of its deliberations the Chairperson submitted a Draft Report. The African National Congress requested that their minority view be included in the Report, after which the Report was considered and adopted.

4. Consideration and adoption of Draft Committee Minutes of 21 November 2023

The Chairperson submitted the Draft Committee Minutes of 21 November 2023, which were considered and adopted.

5. Resolutions/Actions

- 5.1 The Committee REQUESTED that the Department of Environmental Affairs and Development Planning provides it with a list of:
- 5.1.1 The 11 critical vacant posts of which three were filled; and
- 5.1.2 Their planned waste entrepreneur beneficiaries, the location of these beneficiaries and clarity whether the locations align with the City of Cape Town's 21 Hotspots Programme for the areas with the most dumping.
- 5.2 The Committee REQUESTED that CapeNature provides it with the name and cost of the three Infrastructure Projects that were postponed.

6. Closing

The Chairperson expressed his appreciation to the members, the Minister of Local Government, Environmental Affairs and Development Planning, the Head of Department, the Chief Executive Officer of CapeNature, departmental officials as well as the officials from the Western Cape Provincial Parliament for their contribution to the success of the meeting and for the support afforded the Committee during the year. As this was expected to be the last meeting with Cape Nature for the year, and as Dr. Omar was retiring at the end of the year, a special word of thanks for her dedicated service was extended to her.

The meeting adjourned at 11:45.

Indent hangen

MR AP VAN DER WESTHUIZEN, MPP CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE, ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND DEVELOPMENT PLANNING

Date:21 February 2024.....