

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

Ref: 11/4/1/2/5

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

STANDING COMMITTEE ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT

Tuesday, 13 February 2024 (at 09:00), Virtual meeting via MS Teams

PRESENT

Members

Democratic Alliance

Murray, C Maseko, LM (Acting Chairperson) Van der Westhuizen, A

Economic Freedom Fighters

Klaas, T

Apology

Sileku, I (Chairperson) (DA)

The following persons were in attendance:

Department of Local Government

Dr S Greyling, Director: Municipal Support and Capacity Building

Mr K Makan, Director: Municipal Governance

Mr R Ockhuis, Director: Legislation Development Unit

South African Local Government Association (SALGA)

Cllr P Swart, Provincial Legislature Representatives

Cllr M Chauke, Specialist: Inclusive Governance and Councillor Welfare, SALGA.

Mr A Mpela, Western Cape Provincial Director of Operations

Mr L Njamela, Advisor: IGR and Strategic Relations Mr D Jansen, Senior Advisor: Municipal Governance

Department of Cooperative Governance

Dr K Naido, Deputy Director-General: Policy Governance and Administration Mr W McComans, Chief Director: Policy Governance and Administration Mr S Nkehli, Manager: Local Government Institutional Establishment

Western Cape Provincial Parliament

Adv R Maasdorp, Legal Advisor Mr J Coetzee, Procedural Officer Ms N Mshumpela, Committee Assistant Ms C Morris, ICT Support

1. Election of Chairperson

The Procedural Officer welcomed members and informed the Committee that due to a change in the Democratic Alliance membership on the Standing Committee for Local Government as announced in ATC 12 of 21 February 2023, the Committee had to proceed to the election of a Chairperson in terms of Standing Rule 82 (1).

The Procedural Officer proceeded to request for nominations for a Chairperson.

Mr v d Westhuizen moved: That Ms Maseko be Chairperson.

No further nominations were received.

Motion agreed to.

2. Opening and welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the members of the Committee and the officials.

3. Briefing by the National Department of Cooperative Governance on the Independent Municipal Demarcation Authority Bill (B 14B-2022) NCOP

Mr Nkehli briefed the Committee on the Independent Municipal Demarcation Authority Bill (B 14B-2022) NCOP.

The Committee deliberated.

4. Briefing by the Department of Local Governance on the Independent Municipal Demarcation Authority Bill (B 14B-2022) NCOP

Mr K Makan briefed the Committee on their comments on the Independent Municipal Demarcation Authority Bill (B 14B-2022) NCOP.

The Committee deliberated.

5. Briefing by SALGA on the Independent Municipal Demarcation Authority Bill (B 14B-2022) NCOP

Cllr M Chauke briefed the Committee on their comments on the Independent Municipal Demarcation Authority Bill (B 14B-2022) NCOP.

The Committee deliberated.

6. Way Forward

The Committee expressed its concern at the limited time to consider the Bill and resolved to draft a letter to the Chairperson of the NCOP to request an extension to consider the Bill with adequate time to do proper public participation or to let the Bill stand over to the new Parliament.

The Committee further resolved to write to stakeholders and make use of social media in the meantime to solicit public comments on the Bill.

The meeting adjourned at 08:38.

MS M MASEKO, MPP

ACTING CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT