

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

Ref: WCPP 11/4/8

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE, ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND DEVELOPMENT PLANNING

Tuesday 27 February 2024 (at 13:00), Virtual Meeting via Microsoft Teams

PRESENT

Members

Democratic Alliance

America, D Murray, CA Van der Westhuizen, AP (Chairperson)

African National Congress

Marran, P

GOOD

De Villiers, PT

The following persons were in attendance:

Members of the Public

Mr G Klaasen, Project 90 by 2030

Ms T Schubert, Project 90 by 2030

Ms N Mc Askill, Project 90 by 2030

Ms L Jephtas, Representative of the Hillview Community

Ms J Lister, Greenpop

Mr S Carstens, Western Cape Registered Disaster Management Professional

National Department of Forestry, Fisheries and the Environment

Mr T Ramaru, Chief Director – Climate Change Adaptation

Mr S Kobese, Directorate Climate Change

Ms M Sithole, Directorate Climate Change

Ms P Sekgobela, Directorate Climate Change

Ms S Sithole, Directorate Law Reform

Mr C Shilowa, Directorate Law Reform

Mr V Loate, Directorate Atmospheric Regulations and Planning

Western Cape Department of Environmental Affairs and Development Planning

Mr G Gerber, Head of Department

Ms K Shippey, Chief Director – Climate Change

Mr G Isaacs, Director - Climate Change

Mr P Hardcastle, Director: Planning and Policy Coordination

Ms L Jennings, Environmental Officer (Climate Change Directorate)

Ms A Rossouw, Environmental Officer (Directorate Policy and Planning Coordination)

Department of Agriculture

Dr I Trautmann, Deputy Director General: Agricultural Research and Regulatory Services

Western Cape Mobility Department

Mr B Petersen, Assistant Director - Western Cape Mobility Department

Western Cape Department of Infrastructure

Mr C Cloete, Deputy Director – Environmental Implementation

Department of the Premier

Mr N Dias, State Law Adviser

Western Cape Provincial Parliament

Ms S Niekerk, Procedural Officer
Ms N Mshumpela, Committee Assistant
Mr S Hassam, Information Technology Assistant
Ms C Morris, Information Technology Assistant
Adv R Maasdorp, Legal Adviser
Mr J Cleophas, NCOP Liaison Officer

1. Opening and welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the members of the Committee, the departmental officials, guests as well as the officials from the Western Cape Provincial Parliament.

2. Briefing by the national Department of Forestry, Fisheries and the Environment on the Climate Change Bill [B 9B—2022] (NCOP)

The national Department of Forestry, Fisheries and the Environment briefed the Committee on the Climate Change Bill with specific reference to the purpose and objectives of the Bill; the principles of the Bill; key definitions; the process that was followed by the relevant Portfolio Committee in the National Assembly; and salient amendments effected by the Portfolio Committee.

The Committee deliberated.

3. Oral Submissions

Oral submissions were made by Mr Klaasen and Ms Jephtas.

4. Deliberation on submissions received in respect of the Climate Change Bill [B 9B-2022] (NCOP) and the national Department of Forestry, Fisheries and the Environment's response thereto

The national Department provided the Committee with a summary of the Matrix of Comments that contained written submissions received and placed into context its response to these submissions.

The Committee, provincial departmental officials and members of the public were afforded an opportunity to ask questions of clarity and raise concerns to which the national Department responded.

The Committee deliberated and agreed that it would peruse the Matrix of Comments in its own time and highlight the items that should be included in its Negotiating Mandate Report at the Committee Meeting 28 February 2024.

5. General

The Procedural Officer, in response to a question that was posed to the Legal Adviser and deferred as it was procedural of nature, provided the Committee with the constitutional mandate in respect of public participation, the expectation of a provincial legislature and the determining factors to consider when deciding on the extent of public participation in respect of legislation.

6. Closing

The Chairperson expressed his appreciation to the guests and members for their active participation in the meeting and also to the officials for their contribution to the success of the meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 15:34.

MR AP VAN DER WESTHUIZEN, MPP

CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE, ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND

DEVELOPMENT PLANNING

Date: 20 March 2024