

# Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

Ref: WCPP 11/4/8

#### **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

### STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE, ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND DEVELOPMENT PLANNING

Tuesday 12 March 2024 (at 09:00), Committee Room 2, 7 Wale Street, Cape Town

#### **PRESENT**

#### Members

#### **Democratic Alliance**

Murray, CA Van der Westhuizen, AP (Chairperson)

#### **African National Congress**

Marran, P

#### **GOOD**

De Villiers, PT

#### **Apology**

Mr D America, Member (Democratic Alliance)

#### The following persons were in attendance:

#### Ministry of Local Government, Environmental Affairs and Development Planning

Mr A Bredell, Minister of Local Government, Environmental Affairs and Development Planning

#### **Department of Environmental Affairs and Development Planning**

Mr G Gerber, Head of Department

Mr A Mohamed, Chief Director - Environmental Governance, Policy Coordination, Planning and Enforcement

Ms K Shippey, Chief Director - Environmental Sustainability

Mr G Arendse, Chief Director - Environmental Quality

Mr A Gaffoor, Director - Strategic and Operational Support

Mr J Fritz, Director - Financial Management

Ms F Mabusela, Director - Development Planning

Mr P Hardcastle, Director - Policy Planning and Coordination

Ms N Davis-Wolmarans, Director - Pollution and Chemicals Management

Mr A Bassier, Director - Environmental Law Enforcement

Mr R Mukanya, Director - Sustainability

Mr G Isaacs, Director - Climate Change

Ms M Laros, Director - Biodiversity and Coastal Management

Dr J Leaner, Director - Air Quality Management

Mr S Haider, Director - Waste Management

Mr Z Toefy, Director - Development Planning Region 1 (West Coast)

Mr K Munro, Director - Development Management - Region 2(Overberg/West Coast)

Ms T Jordan, Director - Development Facilitation

Ms H Jacobs, Director - Development Planning, Intelligence Management and Research

Ms J Keet, Acting Director - Environmental Governance

Mr F Wust, Manager - Regional Social Economic Programme

#### CapeNature

Dr A Naidoo, Chief Executive Officer
Mr M Bhayat, Chief Financial Officer
Mr S Ismail, Executive Director - Eco-Tourism and Access

#### **WCPP Officials**

Ms S Niekerk, Procedural Officer
Ms N Mshumpela, Committee Assistant
Mr S Hassam, Information Technology Assistant
Ms C Morris, information Technology Assistant

#### 1. Opening and welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the members of the Committee, the Minister, Head of Department and officials. A special word of welcome was extended to the newly appointed Chief Executive Officer of CapeNature Dr Ashley Naidoo.

## 2. Consideration of Vote 9: Environmental Affairs and Development Planning in the Schedule to the Western Cape Appropriation Bill [B 1–2024]

The Department briefed the Committee on Vote 9 in the Schedule to the Western Cape Appropriation Bill [B 1–2024].

The Committee deliberated after which it agreed to support the Vote. The African National Congress did not support the Vote.

# 3. Consideration and adoption of Draft Committee Report on Vote 9: Environmental Affairs and Development Planning in the Schedule to the Western Cape Appropriation Bill [B 1–2024]

Upon conclusion of its consideration of the Vote, the Chairperson submitted a Draft Report. The African National Congress requested that their minority view be included in the Report, after which the Report was considered and adopted.

#### 4. Closing

The Chairperson expressed his appreciation to the members, the Minister of Local Government, Environmental Affairs and Development Planning, the Head of Department, the Chief Executive Officer of CapeNature, and officials for their contribution to the success of the meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 11:30.

\_\_\_\_\_

MR AP VAN DER WESTHUIZEN, MPP

CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE, ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS AND

**DEVELOPMENT PLANNING** 

Date: 20 March 2024