

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo IeNtshona Koloni

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

STANDING COMMITTEE ON INFRASTRUCTURE

Tuesday, 12 March 2024 (08:00), Virtual via MS Teams

ATTENDANCE

Members:

Democratic Alliance

Maseko, LM (Chairperson) Murray, C Sileku, I

African National Congress

Marran, P

Apologies

De Villiers, P (GOOD) Klaas, T (EFF)

The following persons were in attendance:

Western Cape Provincial Parliament

Ms S Jones, Procedural Officer Ms L Cloete, Senior Procedural Officer Ms M Mrubata, Committee Assistant Adv. R Maasdorp, Legal Advisor

1. Welcome and attendance.

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed all that were present. The Chairperson explained the rules pertaining to virtual meetings.

2. Deliberations on the Final Mandate for the Expropriation Bill [B 23D-2020] (NCOP)

The Chairperson indicated that the Members were encouraged to express their thoughts on the Expropriation Bill [B 23D-2020] (NCOP). Members were informed that the NCOP minutes on the deliberations on the D-Bill were not received. The Committee only received the minutes of the C-List amendments deliberations and the D-Version of the Bill. Adv. Maasdorp advised the Committee to obtain the minutes on the deliberations of the D-Bill to guide the Committee in drafting its final mandate on the Expropriation Bill.

The meeting was adjourned to obtain legal guidance to request the minutes of the D-Bill and the Committee resolved to reconvene the meeting on the consideration and finalisation of the Final Mandate on the Expropriation Bill [B 23D-2020].

3. Resolutions/Actions

- 3.1 The Committee Resolved to:
- 3.1.1 Draft a letter to the National Council of Provinces (NCOP) requesting the minutes of the NCOP's deliberations on the D-Bill; and
- 3.1.2 Reconvene the meeting on the consideration and finalisation of the Final Mandate on the Expropriation Bill [B 23D-2020], on Wednesday, 13 March 2024 at 8:00 am.

The meeting adjourned at 08:42.

M. Maseko

MS LM MASEKO (MPP) CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON INFRASTRUCTURE

DATE: 5 April 2024