

# Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

#### **MEETING MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

# BUDGET COMMITTEE (Election of a Chairperson)

## Friday, 5 July 2024 (10:30) Virtual Meeting via MS Teams

#### **PRESENT**

#### Members:

#### **African National Congress**

Stoffels, B N

#### **Democratic Alliance**

Johnson, P Masipa, N P Wessels, D J

## **Patriotic Alliance**

Petrus, B

#### **Alternate members**

Bosman, G (DA)
Kaizer-Philander, W F (DA)
Booysen, M (DA)
Bryant, D W (DA)
Marais, G P (FF Plus)
Nkondlo, N D (ANC)
Van Minnen, B M (DA)
Van Wyk, L D (DA)
Walters, T C R (DA)

### **Western Cape Provincial Parliament officials**

Ms L Cloete, Senior Procedural Officer Mr D Davids, Procedural Officer Ms M Motsapi, Committee Assistant Ms C Morris, ICT Support Mr S Hassan, ICT Support

## 1. Welcome and apologies

Member Bosman indicated that he is representing Member N Mbombo.

## 2. Election of Chairperson

The Procedural Officer, Mr D Davids, welcomed the Committee members and informed the Committee that in accordance with the Western Cape Provincial Parliament's Standing Rule 82(1) the Committee would proceed to the election of a chairperson.

Mr Mapisa moved: That Mr Johnson be Chairperson.

Mr Wessels seconded the motion of Mr Mapisa.

No further nominations were received

The Procedural Officer congratulated Mr Johnson for being elected Chairperson.

### 3. Opening and Welcome

The Chairperson welcomed the members and expressed his gratitude to the Committee for electing him as Chairperson.

The meeting adjourned at 10:40.

MR P JOHNSON, MPP

**CHAIRPERSON: BUDGET COMMITTEE**