

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo IeNtshona Koloni

MEETING MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

PUBLIC ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE

(Election of a Chairperson)

Friday, 5 July 2024 (10:45)

Virtual Meeting via MS Teams

PRESENT

Members:

African Christian Democratic Party

Christians, FC

African National Congress

Lekker, PZ

Democratic Alliance

Johnson, P Van Minnen, B M Van Wyk, L D

Patriotic Alliance

Petrus, B

Alternate members

Booysen, M (DA)

Bosman, G (DA)

Bryant, DW (DA)

Cassiem, A (EFF)

Kaizer-Philander, W F (DA)

Masipa, N P (DA)

Nkondlo, N D (ANC)

Stoffel, B N (ANC)

Walters, T C R (DA)

Wessels, DJ (DA)

Western Cape Provincial Parliament officials

Ms L Cloete, Senior Procedural Officer

Mr D Davids, Procedural Officer

Ms M Motsapi, Committee Assistant

Ms C Morris, ICT Support

Mr S Hassan, ICT Support

1. Welcome and apologies

Ms Kaizer- Philander indicated that she is representing Ms N Mbombo.

2. Election of Chairperson

The Procedural Officer, Mr D Davids, welcomed the Committee members and informed the Committee that in accordance with the Western Cape Provincial Parliament's Standing Rule 82(1) the Committee would proceed to the election of a chairperson.

Mr Van Wyk moved: That Mr Christians be Chairperson.

Ms Van Minnen seconded the motion of Van Wyk.

Ms Nkondlo moved: That Ms P Lekker be Chairperson.

Ms Stoffels seconded the motion of Ms Nkondlo.

Mr Bosman and Ms Nkondlo enquired from the Procedural Officer whether an Alternate Member could nominate a Committee Member to be Chairperson. The Procedural Officer responded that there was no rule in the Standing Rules of the Western Cape Provincial Parliament which indicated that an Alternate Member could not nominate or participate in any committee meeting, barring that the alternative members could not vote if the Member of the Committee was in the meeting and have full voting rights which the alternate members then did not have in this specific instance. Mr Bosman and Ms Nkondlo thanked the Procedural Officer for the clarification on the enquiry.

The Procedural Officer proceeded to request the Committee to vote, seeing that two names have been tabled for Chairperson of the Committee.

Ms Lekker voted for herself as Chairperson of the Public Accounts Committee (as a permanent member of the Committee).

Ms Van Minnen, Mr Van Wyk, Mr Johnson, Ms Kaizer-Philander and Mr Christians voted for Mr Christians to be Chairperson of the Public Accounts Committee.

The Procedural Officer congratulated Mr Christians for being elected Chairperson.

2. Opening and Welcome

The Chairperson welcomed the members and expressed his gratitude to the Committee for electing him as Chairperson.

The meeting adjourned at 10:58.

MR F CHRISTIANS, MPP

CHAIRPERSON: PUBLIC ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE