

Ref number: WCPP 11/4/6

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo IeNtshona Koloni

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

STANDING COMMITTEE ON INFRASTRUCTURE

Friday, 5 July 2024, (at 09:00) Teams

PRESENT

Democratic Alliance

Wessels, DJ (Chairperson) Bryant, DW Johnson, P Mbombo, N

African National Congress

Lekker, P

Patriotic Alliance

Petrus, B

Alternate Members

Van Minnen, BM (DA) Walters, TCR (DA) Kaizer-Philander, WF (DA) Kamfer, F (ANC) Sayed, MK (ANC)

Apology

Herron, BN (GOOD)

WCPP Staff in attendance

Mr Stemele, L – Parliamentary Support Services Ms Cloete, L- Senior Procedural Officer/ Committee Acting Manager Ms Jones, S - Procedural Officer Ms Mrubata, M - Committee Assistant

1. Opening and welcome

The meeting commenced with brief introductions, clarifying that the primary agenda was the election of a Chairperson, as per the vacancy announced in ATC No. 30 on Thursday, 4 July 2024.

2. Election of the Chairperson

The Committee proceeded to the election of a Chairperson in accordance with Standing Rule 82 (1).

Member Bryant moved:

That Member Wessels, be elected as the Chairperson.

Member Mbombo seconded:

Agreed to.

Member Wessels was duly elected as the Standing Committee on Infrastructures Chairperson. The Chairperson made a vote of thanks to all in attendance and informed Members that a Committee Programme would be formulated and emailed to them for their input in due course.

The meeting adjourned at 09:10.

MR WESSELS, DJ, MPP CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON INFRASTRUCTURE WESTERN CAPE PROVINCIAL PARLIAMENT