

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

MEETING MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS PUBLIC ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE

(SAAPAC matters)

Wednesday, 14 August 2024 (12:00) Virtual Meeting via MS Teams

PRESENT

Members:

African Christian Democratic Party

Christians, FC

African National Congress

Lekker, PZ

Democratic Alliance

Johnson, P Mbombo, N Van Minnen, B M Van Wyk, L D

Patriotic Alliance

Petrus, B

Alternate members

Booysen, M (DA) Bosman, G (DA) Nkondlo, N D (ANC) Stoffel, B N (ANC)

Western Cape Provincial Parliament officials

Ms L Cloete, Senior Procedural Officer
Mr D Davids, Procedural Officer
Ms M Motsapi, Committee Assistant
Ms C Morris, Information Technology Assistant
Mr S Hassan, Information Technology Assistant

1. Welcome and apologies

The Chairperson welcomed the members to the meeting. The Chairperson requested whether the meeting had the correct quorum to continue. The Secretariat indicated that the meeting had the required quorum and advised that the Chairperson could proceed with the meeting. It was noted by the Secretariat that Ms P Lekker; including Mr Van Wyk experienced connectivity challenges in entering the meeting, and that the Information Technology Assistant officials in the meeting will assist the members who are struggling to enter the meeting. The Chairperson read the rules of engagement for the virtual meeting.

2. Payment or non-payment of South African Association of Public Accounts Committees (SAAPAC) annual membership fees

The Chairperson introduced the subject matter and indicated that 6th Western Cape Parliamentary Public Accounts Committee resolved that the 2023/24 financial year, including all invoices that will proceed 2023/24 financial years, in that the Western Cape Provincial Parliament will only pay the invoices of SAAPAC once it has submitted its Audited Financial Statements from the 2019 financial year to date.

Member Nkondlo provided a brief input on the matter and proposed that the invoices of SAAPAC for the 2023/24 and 2024/24 financial years be submitted for payment by the Western Cape Provincial Parliament.

Mr Petrus moved: That the proposal of Member Nkondlo be accepted and that the WCPP pays the 2023/24 and 2024/25 invoices of SAAPAC.

Mr Van Wyk seconded the motion of Mr Petrus.

3. Selection of WCPP PAC members who will constitute the Council of Delegates (COD) for the 7th Parliamentary Term

The Chairperson introduced the agenda item and indicated that the SAAPAC usually requires that each Public Accounts Committees of the 9 legislatures of South Africa are required to nominate members to comprise the COD delegation. This would include the Chairperson (as an Exco Member of SAAPAC), and two members of each PAC of each legislature. The Chairperson requested nominations from the PAC members.

Ms Van Minnen moved: That Mr P Johnson and Ms P Lekker be part of the COD delegation that will represent the WCPP PAC at the SAAPAC level.

Messers Van Wyk, Christians and Nkondlo seconded the motion of Ms Van Minnen.

4. Selection of WCPP PAC delegation who will attend the Annual Conference of the Southern Africa Development Community Organisation of Public Accounts Committees (SADCOPAC)

The Chairperson introduced the subject matter and indicated that the annual SADCOPAC Conference will be held in Zimbabwe from 9-13 September 2024. The Chairperson further alluded to the fact that SADCOPAC provided a specific request that the attending delegation of WCPP and all other jurisdictions consists of two male members, two female members and one support staff. The Chairperson requested nominations from the PAC members.

Mr Van Wyk moved: That Prof Mbombo and Ms Van Minnen be the two female members to form part of the delegation.

Mr Johnson seconded the motion of Mr Van Wyk.

Ms Nkondlo raised a concern that the delegation should comprise of a complimentary membership who would represent all political parties who are members of the WCPP PAC. The Chairperson supported the input raised by Ms Nkondlo and requested the Committee to reconsider its proposal, if possible.

Ms Nkondlo moved: That Ms Lekker and Mr Petrus should form part of the WCPP PAC delegation who would form part of the WCPP PAC to attend the SADCOPAC Annual Conference in Zimbabwe.

Mr Petrus declined the proposal of Ms Nkondlo and indicated that he does not wish to form part of the delegation.

Mr G Bosman requested procedural advice on whether an alternate member can nominate a permanent member of the WCPP PAC to form part of the visiting delegation. The Secretariat advised that once a permanent member is present in a Standing Committee meeting, his/ her alternate member can only deliberate on matters and could not vote nor make any nominations, and that only the permanent members who are present in the meeting could vote and make nominations amongst themselves in the meeting (unless the permanent members are not present and the mandate to vote or nominate fell on the alternate member).

Ms Lekker moved: That she form part of the delegation who will attend the SADCOPAC Conference in Zimbabwe.

Mr Petrus seconded the motion of Ms Lekker.

The Chairperson requested that the members reconsider the matter and motions to ensure that the Committee considers a balanced political representation of most (if not all) of the members who permanently sits on the WCPP PAC. The Chairperson requested a revisitation of the proposals of the members.

Mr Van Wyk moved: That Prof Mbombo and Ms Van Minnen be the two female members to form part of the delegation, and that Mr Christians and Mr Johnson be the two male members to form part of the delegation who will attend the SADCOPAC Conference in Zimbabwe from 9-13 September 2024.

Ms Van Minnen seconded the motion of Mr Van Wyk.

The Chairperson requested if there were any further nomination, of which there was none.

4. Consideration and adoption of the Public Accounts Committee Minute of 5 July 2024

The Chairperson tabled the Draft Committee Minute to the Committee for consideration and adoption. The Committee accepted and adopted the Draft Committee Minute.

5. Resolutions and actions

The Committee resolved that:

- 5.1 the WCPP pays the 2023/24 and 2024/25 invoices of SAAPAC.
- 5.2 Mr F Christians, Mr P Johnson and Ms P Lekker be part of the COD delegation that will represent the WCPP PAC at the SAAPAC level during the 7th parliamentary term.
- 5.3 Prof Mbombo, Ms Van Minnen, Mr Christians and Mr Johnson would be the delegation who will attend the SADCOPAC Conference in Zimbabwe from 9-13 September 2024.

After concluding on its deliberations, the Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 12:58.

MR F CHRISTIANS, MPP

CHAIRPERSON: BUDGET COMMITTEE

WESTERN CAPE PROVINCIAL PARLIAMENT PUBLIC ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE

ATTENDANCE REGISTER

riding the personal information required here, I consent to my personal information being processed for any lawrul purpose, including the facilitation of public involvement in the processes of the Western Cape Provincial Parliament (WCPP), law-making and oversight by the WCPP, securing the parliamentary precincts, and to coordinate programmes between the WCPP and other stakeholders.

Date: 14 August 2024 Time: 12h00 – 13h00 Venue: MS TEAMS (VIRTUAL)

MEMBERS	SIGNATURE
DEMOCRATIC ALLIANCE (DA)	
Johnson, P (Mr)	Present
Mbombo, N (Prof)	Present
Van Minnen, BM (Ms)	Present
Van Wyk, LD (Mr)	Present
AFRICAN NATIONAL CONGRESS (ANC)	
Lekker, P (Ms)	Present
PATRIOTIC ALLIANCE (PA)	
Petrus, B (Mr)	Present
AFRICAN CHRISTIAN DEMOCRATIC PARTY (ACDP)	
Christians, F C (Mr) (Chairperson)	Present
ALTERNATIVE MEMBERS	
Bosman, G (Mr) DA	Present
Kaizer-Philander, WF (Ms) DA	
Booysen, M (Mr) DA	Present
Bryant, D W (Mr) DA	
Masipa, N P (Mr) DA	
Walters, TCR (Mr) DA	
Wessels, DJ (Mr) DA	
Stoffels, BN (Ms) ANC	Present
Nkondlo, ND (Ms) ANC	Present
Cassiem, A (Ms) EFF	

Procedural Officer: Dustin Davids Committee Assistant: M Motsapi-Mrubata