

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

MEETING MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS STANDING COMMITTEE ON MOBILITY

Friday, 16 August 2024 (09:00) Chamber, 6th Floor, 7 Wale Street, Cape Town

PRESENT
Members:

Democratic Alliance

Bryant, D Johnson, P Masipa, N Mbombo, N (Chairperson)

African National Congress

Ngqentsu, B

GOOD

Herron, B

Patriotic Alliance

Constable, N

The following persons were in attendance:

Western Cape Provincial Parliament

Ms Z Adams, Procedural Officer Ms L Cloete, Senior Procedural Officer Ms M Mrubata, Committee Assistant

Minister of Mobility and the Western Cape Mobility Department

*The attendance list has been included at the bottom of the minutes

1. Welcome and Attendance

The Chairperson welcomed the Members, Minister, and officials from the Western Cape Mobility Department (the Department) and Government Motor Transport (GMT) to the meeting. The Chairperson indicated that the first meeting of the Committee would focus on the 2024/25 Annual Performance Plans of the Department and GMT and handed over to the Minister for opening remarks.

2. Briefing on the 2024/25 Annual Performance Plans of the Western Cape Mobility Department and Government Motor Transport

The Minister made opening remarks on the Annual Performance Plans (APPs) and handed over to the Head of Department to continue with the presentation, which also focused on an overview of the Department and GMT, its organogram, programmes that the Department would be focusing on, and legislation in the pipeline and within the Department's area of responsibility. The Department also gave the Committee an overview of its performance in the first quarter of the 2024/25 financial year.

The Members, Minister and officials engaged in a question-and-answer session once the presentations concluded.

Once the question-and-answer session concluded, the Committee proceeded to the rest of the Committee business.

3. Consideration and adoption of Draft Committee Minutes

The Committee proceeded to adopt the draft minutes of 5 July 2024 without any amendments.

4. Resolutions/Actions

- 4.1 The Committee REQUESTED the following information from the Western Cape Mobility Department:
- 4.1.1 A report on the status quo of the Blue Dot Programme and any further plans for the Programme; and
- 4.1.2 A breakdown (statistics) of the traffic fines issued in respect of moving versus non-moving violations.
- 4.2 The Committee RESOLVED the following:
- 4.2.1 To refer the question of what was planned for the previous government garage facility in Hope Street to the Department of Infrastructure;
- 4.2.2 To request a briefing on whether the Western Cape Mobility Department's targets have been aligned to its constitutional mandate, given the challenges experienced in the Province's mobility sector;

- 4.2.3 To request a briefing from the Western Cape Mobility Department on the possible devolution of powers in respect of the mobility sector to municipalities; and
- 4.2.4 To request a briefing from the Western Cape Mobility Department on the work it has done around the provincial fuel levy, and where the funding would go if the fuel levy is implemented.

The meeting adjourned at 12:00.

PROF N MBOMBO, MPP

CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON MOBILITY

DATE: 27 September 2024

Attendance:

Female Grammer				
Title	Name	Designation	Organization	
MR	I sanc Sileder	Minister	Ministry of Mobility	
we	Vuydwethu Njalo	Head of Ministry	Ministry of Mobility	
Mr	Hugo Geldartnys	Comos Ministry	Ministry: Nobility	
MR	KASHIEF JONES	ACT DIR FINANCIAL MAN	MESTERN CAPE / MOBILITY DEPARTMENT	
MR	Christiaan Kriegler	ACT DD Signer Service	WCMD S GWT	
Title	Name	Designation	Organization	
MR	A Jane Vari Danskille	Die Best (CAN)	water f.	
MS	B Hendinals	Act Directo Fleet Bro	ne Mobility	
MR	K. Booyson	1: Stategic Plan	1 0.	
WB		ARD: PME	MOBILITY	
Ms	P. Madita	M: Strategic Sypot	Mobility	
Ash	G. RED	CD: Royaloh	Mabily	
Me	W.v.d. Meine	Act. CD: Traffic Man.	Mobility	
Ms	BeiDIG LIBBOUTH	CD TONUS OF S	10	
MR	YASIR ATTMED	CS: GMT	MOBILITY	
MR	Liaan Wiggill	Ad cfo	WCMD	
Ms	Marisa Mode	405	NCMB	