

# Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

# MEETING MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS STANDING COMMITTEE ON MOBILITY

Friday, 27 September 2024 (09:00)

Chamber, 6<sup>th</sup> Floor, 7 Wale Street, Cape Town, and virtual via MS Teams

PRESEN'	I
---------	---

Members:

#### **Democratic Alliance**

Bryant, D Johnson, P Masipa, N Mbombo, N (Chairperson)

## **African National Congress**

Ngqentsu, B

**GOOD** 

Herron, B

# **Patriotic Alliance**

Constable, N

## **Additional Members**

Lekker, P (ANC)(Alternate) Booysen, M (DA)(Alternate)

#### The following persons were in attendance:

#### **Western Cape Provincial Parliament**

Ms Z Adams, Procedural Officer Ms L Cloete, Senior Procedural Officer Ms M Mrubata, Committee Assistant

# Minister of Mobility, Western Cape Mobility Department, South African National Taxi Council, and Members of the Public

\*The attendance list has been included below

#### 1. Welcome and Attendance

The Chairperson welcomed the Members, Minister, officials from the Western Cape Mobility Department (the Department), representatives from the South African National Taxi Council (SANTACO), and members of the public to the meeting. The Chairperson noted that there were no apologies from Members or officials and proceeded to inform the Committee about the rules of engagement for virtual meetings.

## 2. Briefing by the South African National Taxi Council

The representatives of the South African National Taxi Council (SANTACO) briefed the Committee on the current state of the taxi industry and the challenges experienced in the Western Cape.

The Committee proceeded to the next presentation once the SANTACO presentation concluded.

#### 3. Update by the Minister and the Western Cape Mobility Department

The Minister and the Western Cape Mobility Department (the Department) updated the Committee on the progress and outcomes of the Minibus Taxi Task Team since its establishment.

The Committee proceeded to a question-and-answer session on both presentations once the Department's briefing concluded.

#### 4. Consideration and adoption of Draft Committee Minutes

The Committee considered and adopted the draft minutes of 16 August 2024 without any amendments.

# 5. Resolutions/Actions

- 5.1 The Committee REQUESTED the following information from the Western Cape Mobility Department:
- 5.1.1 A report indicating the timelines/timeframes attached to the Minibus Taxi Task Team's implementation plan;
- 5.1.2 The short term and long-term transport plans for the Western Cape;
- 5.1.3 The transport plans for each municipality, including the details of new routes/roads

- established annually, and a breakdown of the modes of transport and allocated permits to operators;
- 5.1.4 A report on (i) how the Department will manage the matter of taxis waiting for permits; (ii) the possibility of having an opportunity or enabler for some taxis to operate while they are waiting on permits, (iii); and whether this type of opportunity has already been implemented previously, if there were any challenges, and the possibility of implementing this solution again while the Department is in the process of ensuring compliance;
- 5.1.5 A report explaining the difference between the Provincial Land Transport Framework and the Local Integrated Transport Plan; and
- 5.1.6 A report on tackling carbon emissions from the transport industry, specifically in respect of the taxi industry.
- 5.2 The Committee RESOLVED the following:
- 5.2.1 To invite the Minister, the Western Cape Mobility Department, SANTACO and all relevant role players, such as the planning authorities and the City of Cape Town (including the transport planning and transport safety units) to meetings of a similar nature in the future; and
- 5.2.2 To request an engagement on the integration of scholar transport and taxis to assist in resolving the differences between the two transport services.

The meeting adjourned at 12:30.

PROF N MBOMBO, MPP

**CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON MOBILITY** 

2024/11/2

DATE: 12 November 2024

Attendance:

Title	Name	Designation	Organization
''''	Hamo	Dooignation	Organization
MK	JSAAC SILVEY	Minister	Mojaloty
MR	GERSHOW GEYER	DEPETY Chairman	SONTACO
	RYND SAMERS	Gener Sect	SANTACO
	Manora Harmanys	CHAIRPERSON	SANTALOWC
	CHOREY PORD	CD: REGULATION	MOBILITY
Title	Name	Designation	Organization
Ms	DEIDLE RIBBOVAR	CD: TANS OF S	MB
Mr	Hugo Goldenhuys	MLO: Minister Md.	L MinistriOther
Mr	Elam Nukaru	CLO: Minister Mo	Ministry
Ms	Vuyolwethu Njalo	Head of Ministry	
Ms	Marissa Moore	HOD	WCMD
MY	Mark Skrikker	pirecter	WCMD
WY	Ivan Waldeck	Treasurer	SANTACO
Ms	Suné Payne	Jeurnalist	baily Maventh

director

Taxi Caupany

Ms

N. Nongingi - Potwana