

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo IeNtshona Koloni

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

PUBLIC ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE (Department of the Premier) Monday, 7 October 2024 (14h00) Parliamentary Chamber, 6th Floor, 7 Wale Street, Cape Town

PRESENT African Christian Democratic Party Christians, F C

African National Congress

Lekker, P Z

Democratic Alliance

Van Minnen, B M Van Wyk, L D

Alternate members

Bosman, G (DA) Nkondlo, N D (ANC)

Additional members

Sayed, M K (ANC) Stephens, D R (PA)

Apologies

Petrus, B (PA) Johnson, P (DA) Mbombo, N (DA)

Audit Committee

Mr Francois Barnard (Chairperson)

Auditor-General of South Africa

Ms Sangeeta Kallen, Business Unit Leader Mr Thomas Mamogwe, Deputy Business Unit Leader Ms Thameenah Narkedien, Senior Manager Ms Tasneem Adams, Stakeholder Liaison Manager Mr Tsepo Mohlomi, Assistant Stakeholder Liaison

Western Cape Provincial Parliament officials

Ms L Cloete, Senior Procedural Officer Mr D Davids, Procedural Officer Ms M Motsapi, Committee Assistant Mr S Hassan, Information Technology Assistant

1. Welcome and attendance

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed all in attendance. Apologies were received from members Petrus, Johnson and Mbombo.

2. Briefing by the Auditor-General on the audit outcomes of the Annual Report of the Department of the Premier for the 2023/24 financial year

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the members of the Auditor-General of South Africa and the Audit Committee.

The Auditor-General briefed the Committee on the audit outcomes of the Department of the Premier for the 2023/24 financial year.

The Committee engaged the Auditor-General on its presentation.

3. Briefing by the Audit Committee on the audit outcomes of the Annual Report of the Department of the Premier for the 2023/24 financial year

The Audit Committee briefed the Committee on the audit outcomes of the Department of the Premier for the 2023/24 financial year.

The Committee engaged the Audit Committee on their presentation.

4. Discussion on the Annual Report of the Department of the Premier for the 2023/24 financial year

The Chairperson commenced the second part of the meeting and welcomed the members of the Committee, the Premier, Mr A Winde, the Director-General, Dr H Malila and the departmental officials.

Mr Winde, Dr Malila and the departmental officials gave an overview on the 2023/24 Annual Report of the Department of the Premier.

The Committee proceeded with a section-by-section discussion on the Annual Report of the Department. The discussions emanated from parts C "Governance", E "PFMA Compliance Report" and F "Financial Information" of the Annual Report.

The Committee deliberated and engaged the Department on its Annual Report.

5. Resolutions/Actions

The Committee resolved that it would formulate recommendations which will be partially derived from the requested documents received from the Department.

These recommendations will subsequently be captured in the Public Accounts Committee report, which relates to the queries, findings, governance matters and financial statements of the Department.

Having concluded the business for the day, the Chairperson thanked the Committee for their participation.

6. South African Association of Public Accounts Committees (SAAPAC)

The Chairperson informed the Committee that SAAPAC emailed an invitation to the Chairperson on 7 October 2024 regarding SAAPAC's Annual General Meeting (AGM) which is scheduled to take place between 8-9 November 2024. SAAPAC requested that 5 PAC members of WCPP; including 2 staff members attends the SAAPAC AGM between 8-9 November 2024.

The Committee resolved that the following PAC members attend the AGM meeting, as follows:

Mr. Christians, C F (Member) Mr. Johnson, P (Member) Ms. Lekker, P, Z (Member) Ms. Mbombo, N (Member) Mr. Petrus, B (Member) Ms. L Cloete (Staff) Mr. D Davids (Staff)

Having concluded its business for the day, the meeting adjourned at 16h30.

MR F CHRISTIANS, MPP CHAIRPERSON: PUBLIC ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE



Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

Public Accounts Committee (PAC) By providing the personal information required here, I consent to my personal information being processed for any lawful purpose, including the facilitation of public involvement in the processes of the Western Cape Provincial Partiament (WCPP), law-making and oversight by the WCPP, securing the Parliamentary precincts, and coordinate programmes between the WCPP and other stakeholders.

Date: 07 October 2024

Time: 14h00 - adjournment

v	enue: Chamber				
Title	Name	Designation	Organization	Telephone	Email address
		Ū	,	No	
ms	Thameenah Narkedia	Senior Manago	ACSA	025284100	thomeenan@agsa.co.ca
MARS	Tasneen Adams	Stakeholder histor Wong	+ AGSA	0766318935	tasname agsa.co.za.
MI	Tsepo Mohlomi	Assistant Liason	A GSA	073403876	tspompagsa. Co. Za.
MRS	Sangeeta Kallen	Business unit Lo	ader AGEA	528400	Songeetak Agsa, co.za

Title	Name	Designation	Organization	Telephone	Email address
				No	
Mr	Thomas Manague	DBUL	AGSA	021528410	thomastic gsa.co.za
Mr	ALAN WINDE .	PREM	WCG DOTP	0824404058	Alon winds averter - Onte . Sou ?
be	HORRY MALICA	AD/DE	DOTP	X6032	hang, mality @
MR	DEIKUS BASSON	CFO	Dorp	X2583	Driken. Lasra @
Ms	Henritte Rober	DDG -: Corp Assurance	Par	X6276	horitte-robon B
Mr	Lucas Buter	ODEr: Legal Services	Dorf	X4674	lucas. but or (os westerriope.gov.ca
A	Leenal Fohmui	Plage 2 : Manage	DoAP	x870)	Kend Shural Q west gucape. of 2.
Me	EGERMON SAMDAT	OD) ACT DAG	MAP	X2638	Egson Sandi @ western
Ms	Laure Ekhige	Pegle Man	DAP	X 5856	Toute 68 k huge @ werker cape gas
M	Ruthwon van I Rengberg	CD: PFS	Dotf	X OYO(Davestancape . gov. 20
hs	Blanche Carringoss	OBE	DUP	X6837	blanche - cairin crosse
MS	Aagelah Mag	Dir: ERM.	POTP	X83 8	Aogelah. Hag @ westerncope.gov. za

Title	Name	Designation	Organization	Telephone No	Email address
Ms	ANEESA BEHARDIEN	DIRECTOR 14	DOTP	X 0884	Aneesa. behardien Gueskin cape que, 2
Me	SATIEN MARTIN	11	DOIP	X 8293	Aneesa. behaidien Queskin cap g. 2 soleh. Martine vester cop g. 20 norifuo watalwaw Quedarcap go. 20 volcent. shawa watarcap nico. bashoff e western.
гM	Noziato Maholwana	DA: DGSUBAT	Doll	XYPI	noripio makolivan Onedoncap go. 20
Mr	Robert Shar	D: DG Support	Dotp	× 8432	voleet. shawa workings
Mr	Nico Boshoff	CD: Legal Ser	ices Dot P	× 3377	nico. bashoff @ western
07	00	0			