

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo IeNtshona Koloni

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

PUBLIC ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE

(Department of Infrastructure)

Wednesday, 09 October 2024 (14h00),

Parliamentary Chamber, 6th Floor, 7 Wale Street, Cape Town

Present:

African Christian Democratic Party

Christians, FC

African National Congress

Lekker, PZ

Democratic Alliance

Johnson, P Mbombo, N

Alternate members

Bosman, G (DA) Nkondlo, N D (ANC) Wessels, D J (DA)

Apology

Van Minnen, B M (DA)

Audit Committee

Mr C Burting (Chairperson for the Dol)
Mr E Abrahams

Auditor-General of South Africa

Mr P Warely, Senior Manager Ms S Kallen, Business Unit Leader Mr A Olkers, Deputy Business Unit Leader Ms T Adams, Stakeholder Liaison Manager

Western Cape Provincial Parliament officials

Ms L Cloete, Senior Procedural Officer Mr D Davids, Procedural Officer Ms M Mrubata, Committee Assistant Mr S Hassan, Information Technology Assistant Ms C Morris, Information Technology Assistant

1. Welcome

The Chairperson welcomed everyone to the meeting.

An apology was noted for Ms Van Minnen by Mr Bosman in the meeting.

2. Briefing by the Auditor-General on the audit outcomes of the Annual Report of the Department of Infrastructure for the 2023/24 financial year

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the members of the Auditor-General of South Africa and the Audit Committee.

The Auditor-General briefed the Committee on the audit outcomes of the Department of Infrastructure for the 2023/24 financial year.

The Committee engaged the Auditor-General on its presentation.

3. Briefing by the Audit Committee on the audit outcomes of the Annual Report of the Department of Infrastructure for the 2023/24 financial year

The Audit Committee briefed the Committee on the audit outcomes of the Department of Infrastructure for the 2023/24 financial year.

The Committee engaged the Audit Committee on their presentation.

4. Discussion on the Annual Report of the Department of Infrastructure for the 2023/24 financial year

The Chairperson commenced the second part of the meeting and welcomed the members of the Committee, the Minister, T Simmers, the Head of Department, Adv C Smith and the departmental officials.

Mr Simmers and Adv Smith gave an overview on the 2023/24 Annual Report of the Department of Infrastructure.

The Committee proceeded with a section-by-section discussion on the Annual Report of the Department. The discussions emanated from parts C "Governance", E "PFMA Compliance and F "Financial Information" of the Annual Report.

The Committee deliberated and engaged the Department on its Annual Report.

5. Resolutions/Actions

The Committee resolved that it would formulate recommendations which will be partially derived from the requested documents received from the Department.

These recommendations will subsequently be captured in the Public Accounts Committee report, which relates to the queries, findings, governance matters and financial statements of the Department.

Having concluded the business for the day, the Chairperson thanked the Committee for their participation.

Having concluded its business for the day, the meeting adjourned at 15h50.

MR F CHRISTIANS, MPP

CHAIRPERSON: PUBLIC ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE

DATE: 22 November 2024



Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

Public Accounts Committee (PAC)

By providing the personal information required here, I consent to my personal information being processed for any lawful purpose, including the facilitation of public involvement in the processes of the Western Cape Provincial Parliament (WCPP), law-making and oversight by the WCPP, securing the Parliamentary precincts, and coordinate programmes between the WCPP and other stakeholders.

Date: 09 October 2024 Time: 14h00 - adjournment Venue: Chamber

Title	Name	Designation	Organization	Telephone	Email address
				No	
MR.	Proston Wareley	SM	AGSB	0215284226	prostonu @agsu.co.zu.
M2 .	Sangeeta Kellen	Bul	AGSA	082975479	Sangretat@agsa.co.za.
	Comfort Benting	AC	WCPG	082441995	comfort bunting petrusa. 0.29
	EBRAHM ABBAHAMS	AC	NACP6	082877907	BROOTINE ENSINO, ZA

Title	Name	Designation	Organization	Telephone	Email address
				No	
Mc	Ashlan Holler	DBUL	ACREA	0781472521	as 1245 Daysa.co. 44
nxs	T. Adams	Staterolder liaison	nayer ACISA	016314935	tassem Na agsa. co. 2g
WL	1.A.Simmers	Winister	かって	0823874045	,
Adv	CA Smir	HOD	DOI	083633dl	5 Clarch snik @ westerne pe
Ms	SAndrews	CO: Finance	DOI	CS14832180	shattida. Andrew @ western capa
1s	P vd Merwe	Acting OFO	DOIL	0214836915	westerncape, gov, za
) r	le Kode	DDG: PPW	BOI	2593	gavin. Kode@
WS	C Schoolman	006:HS	Ioa	x 2955	Labergah Schuman@
MA	B. Rahim	D: Fin Gov	SOE	0828736367	bashier rahme wettrace you
Ms	Gadija Hartley	DD: Fin Gov	DOI	0845085111	Godija, Hartingewesterneape gov-es
Ms !	Godija Raqueor	DRIGN ACC	ODI		Costi ja Luguestenesterraja gosto
Hs	Sania Farao	DD : leporting	DOI	x 55 14	Soria Farace " "

Title	Name	Designation	Organization	Telephone No	Email address
	NTOBERO METADELECT	SECRETERIATE: LOGI		1	mtobeko.mbingeldi@westerncape.go
	Melt Botes	MLD MEC Intraduction	DOL	08243/0068	Melchier. Botes@weekrocape.og.za.
	Rene Kok	a DDG Public Worls	160	X3656	Rene. Koke westernagourg
	Brett Blackbourn.	Chief Director Transparable Asset Many	ut DOI	A 5613	Brett. Blackburne weatern cape, gov. ZR
	To-Anne September	Chief Director	whan DOI		Je. Aure. Systember Questourcape. gov. 29
	C. Hadrick	Head of Ministry	DoI	\$ 60000	Cormon. hortnict. @ Neskincape.govaa
	WWAMID SOLOWOUS	DI DIRECTOR MAN	tec Dol	021-483	migalia , solomons & west maje
	Tavyn Cooke	Deputy Director	Jcd		Tanya. Cooke @westerncope.cov za
	Cail October	ADDG TI	DoI	021 4-232010	an lowber C
	RIFDAH VD FORT	DIRECTOR	DOI	02 483873	rifan.vanderforte west.

2. Participants	
Name	First Join
Dustin Davids	10/09/24, 1:53:42 PM
Candice Morris	10/09/24, 1:18:16 PM
WCPP_d Chamber	10/09/24, 1:25:23 PM
WCPP_s Chamber	10/09/24, 1:26:21 PM
Recording and Streaming 02	10/09/24, 1:27:17 PM
Siraaj Hassam	10/09/24, 1:45:26 PM
Tsepo Mohlomi	10/09/24, 1:54:13 PM
Lizette Cloete	10/09/24, 1:55:10 PM
Tasneem Adams	10/09/24, 2:03:53 PM
Sozet Cox (External)	10/09/24, 2:37:03 PM
Ruthven Janse van Rensburg (External)	10/09/24, 2:39:20 PM
Blanche Cairncross (External)	10/09/24, 2:45:25 PM
Brumilda Beukes (External)	10/09/24, 2:45:33 PM
Stefan Malan (External)	10/09/24, 2:45:47 PM
3. In-Meeting Activities	
Name	Join Time
Dustin Davids	10/09/24, 1:53:42 PM
Candice Morris	10/09/24, 1:18:16 PM
WCPP_d Chamber	10/09/24, 1:25:23 PM
WCPP_s Chamber	10/09/24, 1:26:21 PM
Recording and Streaming 02	10/09/24, 1:27:17 PM
Siraaj Hassam	10/09/24, 1:45:26 PM
Tsepo Mohlomi	10/09/24, 1:54:13 PM
Lizette Cloete	10/09/24, 1:55:10 PM
Lizette Cloete	10/09/24, 2:07:23 PM
Lizette Cloete	10/09/24, 3:14:08 PM
Lizette Cloete	10/09/24, 3:16:34 PM
Tasneem Adams	10/09/24, 2:03:53 PM
Sozet Cox (External)	10/09/24, 2:37:03 PM
Ruthven Janse van Rensburg (External)	10/09/24, 2:39:20 PM
Blanche Cairncross (External)	10/09/24, 2:45:25 PM