

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo IeNtshona Koloni

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

PUBLIC ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE (Department of Local Government) Friday, 11 October 2024 (14h00) Parliamentary Chamber, 6th Floor, 7 Wale Street, Cape Town

Present: African Christian Democratic Party Christians, FC (Chairperson)

African National Congress Lekker, P Z

Democratic Alliance

Mbombo, N Van Wyk, L D

Alternate Member Stoffels, B N (ANC)

Additional members

Masipa, N P (DA) Windvogel, R (ANC)

Apologies

Johnson, P (DA) Petrus, B (PA) Van Minnen, B M (DA)

Audit Committee

Mr F Barnard Mr G Lawrence

Auditor-General of South Africa

Ms B Myende (Acting Senior Manager) Mr C Symons (Assistant Manager) Mr T Mohlomi (Stakeholder Manager)

Western Cape Provincial Parliament officials

Ms L Cloete, Senior Procedural Officer Mr D Davids, Procedural Officer Ms M Mrubata, Committee Assistant Mr S Hassan, Information Technology Assistant Ms C Morris, Information Technology Assistant

1. Welcome and attendance

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed all in attendance. An apology was noted from Member Petrus.

2. Briefing by the Auditor-General on the audit outcomes of the Annual Report of the Department of Local Government for the 2023/24 financial year

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the members of the Auditor-General of South Africa and the Audit Committee.

The Auditor-General briefed the Committee on the audit outcomes of the Department of Local Government for the 2023/24 financial year.

The Committee engaged the Auditor-General on its presentation.

3. Briefing by the Audit Committee on the audit outcomes of the Annual Report of the Department of Local Government for the 2023/24 financial year

The Audit Committee briefed the Committee on the audit outcomes of the Department of Local Government for the 2023/24 financial year.

The Committee engaged the Audit Committee on their presentation.

4. Discussion on the Annual Report of the Department of Local Government for the 2023/24 financial year

The Chairperson commenced the second part of the meeting and welcomed the members of the Committee, the Minister, Mr A Bredell, the Head of Department, Mr G Paulse and the departmental officials.

Mr Bredell and Mr Paulse gave an overview on the 2023/24 Annual Report of the Department of Local Government.

The Committee proceeded with a section-by-section discussion on the Annual Report of the Department. The discussions emanated from parts C "Governance", E "PFMA Compliance and F "Financial Information" of the Annual Report.

The Committee deliberated and engaged the Department on its Annual Report.

4. Resolutions/Actions

The Committee resolved that it would formulate recommendations which will be partially derived from the requested documents received from the Department.

These recommendations will subsequently be captured in the Public Accounts Committee report, which relates to the queries, findings, governance matters and financial statements of the Department.

Having concluded the business for the day, the Chairperson thanked the Committee for their participation.

Having concluded its business for the day, the meeting adjourned at 16h30.

MR F CHRISTIANS, MPP CHAIRPERSON: PUBLIC ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE



Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

Public Accounts Committee (PAC) By providing the personal information required here, I consent to my personal information being processed for any lawful purpose, including the facilitation of public involvement in the processes of the Western Cape Provincial Parliament (WCPP), law-making and oversight by the WCPP, securing the Parliamentary precinets, and coordinate programmes between the WCPP and other stakeholders.

Date: 11 October 2024 Time: 14h00 - adjournment . .

Title	Name	Designation	Organization	Telephone	Email address	
				No		
MS	Beauty Myerde	Adong Senior Mana	or AGSA	021525740	beautymeggsa.w.eg	
Mr	CAPL STWONS	Asst. Managor	AGSA	0215284100	carls@aysa.co.ta	
Mi.	Tises Mohlomi	sim	AGSA	521528410	o tsepomologisa. w 2.	
Ms	NO2440 2MmxAKA	UMER DINEOTOR	Dig	021483441	Noruns, Janxakee	

Title	Name	Designation	Organization	Telephone	Email address
				No	
Ms	Abiquel Robinson	Adia Director	Dep. Coc. Gov	091-4835106	Abroail. Robinson @ webten cape. gov. za.
ithr	HS Maprin	PIR: COW	026	0214832865	weitera Cape. ga. Ze.
Mi	Siphis Phende	Adding Bur	BLG	0214 4838156	
MB	Justice Stephens	Deputy Director	DLG	0214830603	Justine Stephen & worter ape.
MS	Zande Mtyto	Acting Director	DIG	Call483460	Sanete mtyoko@ western cope.
Adv	Gary Brch	Dir . 55	PLG	011 483 3113	grybuchenestere pe son 3
NA.	RAMM MOUSH	Mr: Muninger	015	(02) 4/3-43.65	Kanul. Makin Q wister cape. gav. 24
Mr	Grant Brown	Acting Director	DL Cr	0714838631	grant. brown @ westerncope.gov.za
HV	Astrey Serle	DJ: SCM	Ч	0214839132	Ashly Sel Cultotonespegar
Ms	Roareno Van With	ØØ	DLG	Q1-4834443	Rown Umwyk Owe-gov- 20
Mr.	Luvayo Naphakave.	Deputy Div	Duy	014832187	Luvyo, Naphakade Q Wenerwage gues
Ms	Amonda Willett	Deputy Direct	NG. Gie	0636049021	anondo willet & rectinge ge

(10

Title	Name	Designation	Organization	Telephone No	Email address	
MB	Lavenia Micholson	Activity Dir: PDMC	DLG	9376317	laveria. Nicholson Questa nape. 9V.	a
Mr	DARRON ISHACS	Active Oupary Dir PDM	c I Dia	0219376361	darron. 150005 Owestanicapo. cov. za	
ms	Dibuseng Chabana			02193766	3 bibusenpichobanye western	are gu
Me	Ame Beukes	3	AC	ONLINE	······································	29
MR	FRANCOIS BARNARD	CHAIR PERSON	Ac	ONNINE		
MR	KHA-JALETHY NKOZWANI	÷	Ac	ONLINE		
Ms	Morné WILLIAMS			ONWNE		
Mag.	TASNIKON ADAMS			ONLINE		