

# Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

# MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS STANDING COMMITTEE ON MOBILITY Thursday, 17 October 2024 (08:00) Chamber, 6<sup>th</sup> Floor, 7 Wale Street

#### **ATTENDANCE**

# **Members:**

#### **Democratic Alliance**

Mbombo, N (Chairperson) Bryant, D Johnson, P Walters, T (Alternate)

#### **African National Congress**

Ngqentsu, B

## **Patriotic Alliance**

Constable, N

#### **GOOD**

Herron, B

# **Apology**

Masipa, N (DA)

# The following persons were in attendance:

Minister I Sileku (Minister of Mobility) and officials from the Western Cape Mobility.

#### **Western Cape Provincial Parliament**

Ms Z Adams, Procedural Officer Ms L Cloete, Senior Procedural Officer Ms M Mrubata, Committee Assistant

<sup>\*</sup>Please see attendance list copied below

#### 1. Welcome and attendance

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the Minister and officials from the Western Cape Mobility Department. The Chairperson noted the apology submitted by Member N Masipa (DA) and indicated that Member T Walters (DA) would stand in for him. The Chairperson allowed for brief introductions by the Minister and Head of Department for the deliberations on the respective 2023/24 Annual Reports.

## 2. Discussion on the 2023/24 Annual Report for the Government Motor Transport

Minister Sileku and Ms M Moore (Head of Department) gave a brief overview of the 2023/24 Annual Report for the Government Motor Transport (GMT) focusing on the highlights and challenges experienced in the financial year.

The Committee deliberated on the 2023/24 Annual Report of the GMT.

The Chairperson opened the floor for public comments. There were no comments from the members of the public.

# Discussion on the 2023/24 Annual Report for the Western Cape Mobility Department

The Minister and Ms Moore gave a brief overview of the 2023/24 Annual Report of the Western Cape Mobility Department (the Department), focusing on the highlights and challenges experienced in the financial year.

The Committee deliberated on the Department's 2023/24 Annual Report.

The Chairperson opened the floor for public comments and noted that there were no further questions or comments from any members of the public.

#### 4. Resolutions/Actions

Resolutions, recommendations, and requests for information were included in the Committee's Report on the 2023/24 Annual Report Deliberations on Vote 8: The Western Cape Mobility Department.

## 5. Closing Remarks

The Chairperson thanked the Department for its preparation and responses to the questions raised by the Committee Members. The Chairperson noted that Ms Moore would be resigning from the Department, and thanked her for her contribution to the Department for the past year.

Having concluded its business for the day, the meeting adjourned at 12h10.

PROF N MBOMBO, MPP

CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON MOBILITY DATE: 12 November 2024

# Attendance:

Title	Name	Designation	Organization
MK	Isanc Silety	Minister	mobility
Mrs Mr.	Vyyolwethu Njalo	1 110	
Mz.	Willie v 2 Merme	Act CD: Traffic Man	Mebility
MR	MEZVIN ARENDSE	Bie LISM	( )
MR	NADEEM HENDRICKS	ACT DIRECTOR LIDSF	MOBILITY
MR.	SMALDON LEROUX	Deputy DiRECTOR	MobiLity
MR.	CHRISTIAAN KREGGER	DEPUTY DIRECTOR	WCMD: GMT
MK	Fezile Mhambo	Director LIIXO	Mobility
MR	Kenneth Booysen	Dwector : Strategic	My. Mobilety
Ms	Biona Hendrats	Act Diedra : Fleetfin	re WCMD; GMT
Ms	Pakoma Modita	P. Spectic	WOND'.
MZ	1 20 xds antiho	DD MEE	NCMO
DVI.	Stacy Kleinhans	W: paldry desert	ŢŢ.
Ms	Vority Willamse	DD: Policy lesearches	WEMD