

# Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

# MEETING MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS PARLIAMENTARY OVERISGHT COMMITTEE

# Thursday 24 October 2024 Hybrid Meeting via Chamber and Microsoft Teams

#### **PRESENT**

#### Members:

### **African National Congress**

Bans, AP (online)

#### **Democratic Alliance**

Kaizer-Philander, W F Van Minnen, B M Bosman, G (Chairperson) Bryant, DW

#### **Patriotic Alliance**

Petrus, B (online)

### **National Coloured Congress**

Jacobs, GD (online)

### **Additional members**

Sayed, MK (ANC) (online)

### **Western Cape Provincial Parliament**

Mr S Hassam, ICT Support
Ms C Morris, ICT Support
Ms N Mshumpela, Committee Assistant
Ms W Achmat, Procedural Officer

### Public attendance register

See below

#### 1. Welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the Committee Members and officials.

2. Briefing by the Auditor-General and Audit Committee on the audit outcomes of the Annual Report of the Western Cape Provincial Parliament for the 2023/24 financial year

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the members of the Auditor-General of South Africa and the Audit Committee Chairperson.

The Auditor-General and the Audit Committee briefed the Committee on the audit outcomes of the Western Cape Provincial Parliament for the 2023/24 financial year.

# 3. Discussion on the 2023/24 Annual Report for the Department of the Western Cape Provincial Parliament

The Speaker provided a brief overview of the 2023/24 Annual Report, highlighting key achievements and challenges faced throughout the financial year.

Following this, the Committee engaged in a thorough section-by-section discussion of the report, carefully deliberating on its contents and assessing the performance of WCPP during the 2023/24 period.

#### 4. Public hearing on the 2023/24 Annual Report for the Department of the Premier

The public was given an opportunity to provide input on the Annual Report. No public was present.

# 5. Consideration and adoption of the Draft Committee Meeting Minutes of 14 August 2024

The Chairperson submitted the Draft Committee Minutes of a meeting held on 14 August 2024, which were considered and adopted.

### 3. Resolutions/Actions

The Committee requested the WCPP to provide the following information:

- 3.1 A detailed breakdown of the annual expenditure on maintenance and renovations.
- 3.2 A copy of the Culture Journey report upon the conclusion of its second phase.
- 3.3 A report on the number of individuals who received pay progression.
- 3.4 A comprehensive report on resignations, including the specific units from which they originated, the reasons for these resignations, and copies of the exit interviews conducted.
- 3.5 A breakdown of the costs associated with all legislation listed on page 60 of the Annual Report.
- 3.6 A report on the identified risks and the measures implemented to mitigate them as listed on page 85 of the Annual Report.

The meeting adjourned at 11:09.

## MR G BOSMAN, MPP

**CHAIRPERSON: PARLIAMENTARY OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE** 

DATE: 6 November 2024

TITLE	NAME & SURNAME	DESIGNATION POSITION	DEPARTMENT INSTITUTION	
Mrs	Uhathi Mngargeni	SERVE AMOREGO	ASSA	
Miss	Avika Nunkumar	Manager - AGSA	AGSA	
MES	Sergeeta Kellen	BUSINESS UNIT	AGSA	
MR	Kepo Mohlomi	SLM	AGSA	
MP	DAYUN MITCHELL	SPEAKER: WCPP	W CPP	
M	REAGEN ALLEN	DS: Well	wcll'	
m	Romeo Adeims	Seerty UCPP.	LEFF	
MR	VERNON TITUS	DIR! IF	WCPP	
Ms	NICOLE PETERSEN	CFO ~	WCPP	
MR	BAWOOD JAWOODIEN	MAN FINANCE	WCPP	Ī
	Margo Goldstone	DIR: 510	War	
Ms	Irma de large	Snr Officer: SIO	WCPP	
MR	MARIO SASSMAN	Act. Dir: PSS	WCPP	
Me	CRAIG MATTALE	SRO _	were	
Mo	Lorika Elliott	Hend: Office of the Spe	iker WOPP	
let	Vacure Chys	Advised:50	LOCAP	
Adv	A 11 KgB	Legal Advider	re d	
MR	Kasurah Batton	med: KNIE	ų	
MR	Klayre Naides	J+7	t	
MR	J. S SKRIKER	ITDI	WCPP	
prt.	Themba Keswa	MNGL! PED	WCPP	
√S	Snelk Faych	Dir Publ. Ed	WCPP	
Me	TAMES RETIEF	MAR SMGS	wiff	

Mrs Genevieve Accom Mi	gr! FCIC OFFICE OIL	WCPP
Mrs Genevieve Accom Mi	OFFICE OIL	NCPP
	agr: Secretary	WEFF
Francois Bernard	1	
Juliet Stone-Du Plessy		