

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo IeNtshona Koloni

Ref: WCPP 11/6/12

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE, ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AND TOURISM

Tuesday 29 October 2024 (at 08:00), Chamber, 6th Floor, 7 Wale Street

PRESENT

Members

Democratic Alliance

Bryant, DW Masipa, NP (Chairperson) Mbombo, N Wessels, DJ

African National Congress Stoffel, B (Alternate member)

Al Jama-ah

Brinkhuis, G

Apologies

Constable, N - Patriotic Alliance Nkondlo, ND – African National Congress

The following persons were in attendance:

Ministry of Agriculture, Economic Development and Tourism

Dr I Meyer, Minister of Agriculture, Economic Development and Tourism

Department of Economic Development and Tourism

Ms J Johnston, Head of Department Mr R Toefy, Deputy Director General - Economic Operations Ms M Abrahams, Chief Financial Officer Ms I Van Schalkwyk, Chief Director - Economic Sector Support Mr J Peters, Chief Director - Economic Enablement Mr N Joseph, Chief Director - Skills Development Mr T Parle, Chief Director - Digital Economy Ms T Chipeya, Director - Research Mr F Abrahams, Acting Director - Cape Catalyst Mr H Jonker, Director - Industrial Coordination Ms O Dyers, Director - Digital Leadership Mr J Wolmarans, Director - Enterprise Development Ms M Ellis, Director - Red Tape Reduction Ms F Dharsey, Director - Municipal Economic Support Ms R Loghdey, Director - Skills Incentives Ms M Parker, Director - Provincial Skills Partnership Ms C van Niekerk, Acting Director - Skills Programmes and Projects Ms C Julies, Director - Strategic and Operational Support Ms W Conrad, Director - Culture Journey Mr G Dingaan, Director – Agri-Processing Sector Mr R Le Bron, Deputy Director – Management Accounting Ms M Carstens, Deputy Director - Communication

Western Cape Destination Marketing, Investment and Trade Promotion Agency (WESGRO)

Dr S Zinn, Chairperson of the Board Mr S Ndwandwa, Audit and Risk Chairperson Ms W Stander, Chief Executive Officer Mr S Gcwabe, Chief Financial Officer Ms G Darries, Chief of Staff Ms C Smith, Head – Monitoring and Evaluation Ms J Scheltema, Chief Marketing Officer

Saldanha Bay Industrial Development Zone (SBIDZ)

Mr N Matjie, Acting Chief Executive Officer Mr H Boneschan, Chief Financial Officer Mr S Marthinus, Company Secretary Mr C Joseph, Executive - Stakeholder Management Ms K Molemane, Executive - Infrastructure and Environment Mr G Geldenhuys, Executive - Transaction and Investor Support Ms S Neumann, Acting Executive - Ease of Doing Business Ms V Davidson, Special Project Manager - GH2 and Marine Infrastructure Mr E Laubscher, Financial Accountant Mr S Marthinus, Legal Adviser Ms T Kobese, Human Resources Officer Mr D Paulse, Financial Officer

Atlantis Special Economic Zone (ASEZ)

Mr M Cullinan, Chief Executive Officer Ms W Saib, Chief Financial Officer Ms F Williams, Company Secretary Mr J Lyons, Executive - Business Development Ms A Vos, Executive - Commercial Ms J Modipa, Executive - Sustainable Infrastructure and Zone Operations Mr S Willoughby, Executive - Integrated Ecosystem Mr H Smith, Executive – Enterprise Development Ms S Tetyana, Human Resources Specialist Ms S Dangor, Financial Controller

Auditor-General South Africa

Mr T Mohlomi, Stakeholder Relations

Member of the public

Mr A Gili, Ward Councillor – Witzenberg Municipality

WCPP Officials

Ms S Niekerk, Procedural Officer Ms N Mshumpela, Committee Assistant Mr S Hassam, Information Technology Assistant Ms C Morris, Information Technology Assistant

1. Opening and welcome

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the members of the Committee, the Minister, Head of Department, Chairperson of the WESGRO Board, the Chief Executive Officers of WESGRO, SBIDZ and ASEZ, the Departmental officials, members of the public and those who were watching the live proceedings on YouTube.

2. Discussion of the Annual Reports of the Department of Economic Development and Tourism, WESGRO, SBIDZ and ASEZ (2023/24)

The Minister and Head of Department provided a brief overview of the Annual Report of the Department, focussing on the highlights and challenges in the 2023/24 financial year.

The Chairperson of the WESGRO Board and the Chief Executive Officers of WESGRO, SBIDZ and ASEZ provided the same for their respective entities.

The Committee proceeded to a discussion on Part A: General Information, Part B: Performance Information and Part D: Human Resource Management of the Annual Reports of the Department and its entities.

The Committee deliberated.

Councillor Gili was provided an opportunity to ask questions to which the Department responded.

3. Resolutions/Actions

- 3.1. The Committee RESOLVED that it would undertake an oversight visit to the Cape Town Port to assess progress on challenges that were identified in the previous parliamentary term, particularly regarding the impact of port conditions on operations and infrastructure readiness for imports and exports.
- 3.2 The Committee REQUESTED that the Minister of Agriculture, Economic Development, and Tourism provides it with a written report detailing the strategy to address extortion within the township economic environment.

4. Closing

The Committee further noted its appreciation to the Department of Economic Development and Tourism and its reporting entities for presenting their Annual Reports for the 2023/24 financial year and for obtaining an unqualified audit opinion. The meeting adjourned at 12:30.

MR NP MASIPA, MPP CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE, ECONOMIC DEVELPOPMENT AND TOURISM

Date: 15 November 2024