

Wes-Kaapse Provinsiale Parlement Western Cape Provincial Parliament IPalamente yePhondo leNtshona Koloni

MEETING MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS STANDING COMMITTEE ON PREMIER AND CONSTITUTIONAL MATTERS Wednesday, 12 August 2020 (13:00) Virtual Meeting via MS Teams

ATTENDANCE

Democratic Alliance

Allen, R Mackenzie R (Chairperson) Philander, W

African National Congress

Dugmore, C

Additional Member

Marais, PJ (FFP)

Public Attendance Register

See below

Western Cape Provincial Parliament

Ms W Achmat, Procedural Officer
Ms L Cloete, Senior Procedural Officer

1. Welcome and attendance

The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed the Committee Members and officials.

2. Briefing by the Department of the Premier on the 2020/21 First Quarter Performance Report

The Director-General, Mr Malila, briefed the Committee on the subject at hand.

The Committee engaged the officials on the content of the presentation.

3. Consideration and adoption of the Draft Committee Minutes of the meetings held on 24 July 2020

The Chairperson submitted the Draft Committee Minutes of 24 July 2020, which was considered and adopted with amendments.

4. Consideration and adoption of the Draft Committee Programme

The Chairperson submitted the Draft Committee Programme, which was considered, amended and adopted.

5. Resolutions/Actions

- 5.1 The Committee REQUESTED that the Department provide the Committee with a status report and timelines relating to the setup of the office for the Commissioner for Children.
- 5.2 The Committee further RESOLVED to request a briefing by the Department
- 5.2.1 and Nexus Forensic Services on the Lifestyle Audit Report of the Western Cape cabinet on 2 September 2020; and
- 5.2.2 on the Western Cape Economic Recovery Plan on 21 October 2020.

Having concluded its business for the day, the meeting adjourned at 14:35.

MR R MACKENZIE

CHAIRPERSON: STANDING COMMITTEE ON PREMIER AND CONSTITUTIONAL MATTERS

DATE: 2 September 2020

PUBLIC ATTENDANCE REGISTER

TITLE	INITIALS	SURNAME	DESIGNATION POSITION	DEPARTMENT INSTITUTION
Mr	Н	Arendse	DDG Cel	Department of the Premier
Mr	D	Basson	CFO	Department of the Premier
Mr	L	Buter	DDG Legal Services	Department of the Premier
Mr	Α	Geldenhuys	Director Departmental	Department of the Premier
Mr	L	Grootboom	DDG – Executive	Department of the Premier
Ms	М	Hendrickse	DDG – People	Department of the Premier
Mr	Α	Joemat	Superintendent General -	Department of the Premier
Ms	М	Korsten	DDG – Strategic	Department of the Premier
Ms	N	Maholwana	Office of the DG	Department of the Premier
Mr	Н	Malila	Director-General	Department of the Premier
Ms	Н	Robson	DDG Corporate Assurance	Department of the Premier
Mr	R	Shaw	Director DG Support	Department of the Premier
Mr	G	Van Niekerk		